Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Games become corrupt and stop working!?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Games become corrupt and stop working!?

    Hi, bit of a weird one, 2 games i have New Super Mario Bros. and Zelda Twilight Princess both will randomly just stop working in usb loader gx and neogamma.

    Basically they will work fine for maybe a few days or so then all of a sudden they wont work and will either freeze usb loader and bring up the dump screen or show a black screen, requiring a reset.

    Funny thing is the iso's are fine and if i remove them from the hdd and put them back on using WBFS Manager 3.0 they will start working again.

    Ive tried removing the cfg files and all the other files artwork etc, everything related to the loader and it makes no difference, only way to get them working again is to reinstall them. Also deleted the loaders wad files and reinstalled but no luck.

    Strange and annoying, could i have a corrupt file somewhere on the system, what could be causing this? BTW Zelda is a backup and nsmb is a download.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    You could try reinstalling your cIOS, sometimes it gets a bad install. Also make sure you're on the latest cIOS38rev14 in case you aren't yet.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the quick reply, i followed the 'New 3.1-4.1 Softmod for ANY Wii' guide and have cIOS38rev14 installed, how do i go about reinstalling my cios?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    Run the installer package again through HBC the same as you did before. It will overwrite the current installation.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

  5. 1 User Says Thank You Ithian For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    awesome will try that, ty

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi, was gonna attempt this last night but got a little bit confused, sorry for being an ultimate newb at this but how do i reinstall my cios files?

    I have cIOS 222 v4 installer and cIOS38r14 installer on my SD card that were left over from the guide i followed. Also have Trucha bug restorer.

    Is it as simple as doing the guide again, adding/removing and patching some of the ios's??

    Thanks again.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    No need to remove anything, installing a cIOS will write over any already on your console.

    Make sure you remove all GC memory cards and controllers before doing this.

    To reinstall cIOS38Rev14 run the installer through HBC, choose ios249 to run from, and select network installation. You'll need to have your Wii connected to the internet to do this.

    You could also try reinstalling your cIOS202 from the hermes222/223 v4 package if that didn't work. It supports usb2.0 for homebrew. Again use ios249 to run from, select cIOS202 and install as ios38. This again requires that the console have a working internet connection.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

  9. 1 User Says Thank You Ithian For This Useful Post


  10. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Ithian, was easy from your instructions. Doesn't seem to have fixed the nsmb problem tho. Thought maybe i had a dodgy iso so have removed it and dl'ed another one, im using a pal version now, console is pal so maybe this one will be better.

    Ive reinstalled Zelda tp and so far no problems, will update in a few days.

    Thanks

  11. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    I thought it was his hard drive was spinning down, because I first experienced my hard drive spinning down while playing TP.

  12. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomp_442 View Post
    I thought it was his hard drive was spinning down, because I first experienced my hard drive spinning down while playing TP.
    Could be Stomp. I never think of that first for some reason.

    Check that idea out if you're still having problems, j0n, and for NSMB make sure you've run through the guide to setting it up in the Games secton if you haven't already. Depending on a few factors you might need to patch a thing or two to get it running.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •