Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Can you reset your wii's dvd drive?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can you reset your wii's dvd drive?

    Im pretty sure i goofed up my wii so that it cant tell it to read the disc right. Is there anyway to overight something so that it can read discs again. Kinda like dowloading some kind of fixing hack.

    I lost my backup for my wii.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Jasons34's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,295
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 455 Times in 350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Honestly I have never heard of being able to screw up the drive so that it cant read the discs other than if you messed it up by disconnecting a cable or if the wii was dropped. If you mean you messed the drive up when you softmodded it, I wouldnt see how. If you could give more detail in whats happening when you pop a disc in, we could help you more.
    If I have helped you in any way, please thank me by pressing the little thanks button.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Disk reading could go south with a failed cIOSCORP install
    or
    An ios downgrade on a newer wii.

    What exactly did you do?
    What happens when you load an original title?
    What happens when you load a backup?
    Are you using a loader?
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Jasons34's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,295
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 455 Times in 350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    If your getting errors when the disc is trying to load, thats one thing. But you are making it sound like the drive just doesnt even try to read the discs.
    If I have helped you in any way, please thank me by pressing the little thanks button.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well i was booting up a game through gecko with code and when it got to the game (SSBB) it started makeing weird load sounds so i stoped it. Now when i put in a game it clicks twice then a big click the repeats one more time then the game stops spiming. ( I took the wii apart and the clicking is the lens peice moveing up, up, down, down , up, stop. Then the disc stops spining.)

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    If it is doing that with original games, and was working fine prior, your drive sounds dead. If this is the case you can try to lay the wii on its side with power button and sd-card on the bottom. That may help the drive read your disk. How old is the drive? How long has it been reading backups? They say, it can wear out. Is your wii softmodded or hardmodded?

    If your drive is now crap, I would suggest softmodding and loading your games from a compatible usb drive. Or replace the drive with a new one.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Only thing i have hacked or modified on it is homebrew and bootmii. Its a release date wii. Its allways on its side becasue its disambled and laying on my desk right now. But i do remember it working on its side for the first time and sometimes it works for a few seconds then starts the clicking.(very rarely).

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Then it is not a software issue from softmods. You drive sounds like it is dead. You can follow one of the two guide linked below the softmode, then load the usb. Or buy a new drive, hell buy a whole broken wii on ebay if you like. Lots of softmod bricks for sale, about $50.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok i think I will just buy a new driver seems easier just hope it will work I would hate to waste $50+ but i guess ill have to take risks.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 2,010 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    lol get a usb device it will be about the same cost maybe a little more. i just got a terrabyte for 99 bucks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •