Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Can someone please help me? (re: startpatch)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can someone please help me? (re: startpatch)

    Hi, I'm pretty new to the whole Wii scene but I tried to install the latest version of startpatch onto my 4.2E black Wii but when I load it up from the HBC I'm faced with a black screen asking me to select an IOS. Now I'm not sure which one to select? By default it says 249 so I tried it and it come up with an error message saying:

    Es Initialize ErrorError: -6

    Returning to loader...

    Then I tried it with 250 and the same thing happened, I'm not even sure what these numbers are so it was probably foolish to even take the risk?

    Now I'm not really too sure what I'm doing and I couldn't install bootmii as a boot2 for some reason (even though I backs up my NAND as advised) so I guess I have to be very careful.

    What am I doing wrong here and how can I get startpatch to run on my Wii? Can anyone help me please!

    All I want to be able to do is play multiregion Wii and GC games (originals not backups) and remove some of them annoying warning screens that pop up etc..

    Thanks

  2. #2
    New Member biigstyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    N.Y.
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 64 Times in 53 Posts
    make sure the startpatch your trying to use is for your firmware, try using preloader instead, its a bit easier to use. either way, be sure to install ios 70 patched first if you have'nt already done so.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You biigstyk For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    OK many thanks! How do I install IOS70 patched?

  5. #4
    New Member biigstyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    N.Y.
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 64 Times in 53 Posts
    look at the softmod any 4.2 thread. all instructions are there.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, thanks for that, I've now followed the guide as you said and managed to install priiloader. Only problem is how do I get to the main proper Nintendo System menu? everytime I power off the wii and turn it back on priiloader loads up and I don't want it to (unless I need it!)!

  7. #6
    New Member hypedblank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 38 Times in 32 Posts
    The version v0.2 of priiloader broke the feature that stops it autobooting to priiloader everytime you start the console. To solve this you need to uninstall Priiloader and install v0.1 which is what I done. To uninstall it just run the Priiloader v0.1 app via homebrew channel and press minus to uninstall, then repeat and press plus to install. Once in the Priiloader menu go to settings and change it to system menu.

    Remember you can uninstall Priiloader using v0.1, so just remove v0.2 from your SD card. I cant remember the offical link for v0.1 so i'll upload my download.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. 2 Users Say Thank You to hypedblank For This Useful Post


  9. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, It says on my Priiloader menu that I am using v0.1 (r15), so is there maybe another problem here?

    I'm worried because what if I've bricked the wii and remove the priiloader I have and then totally brick it

    All I done is follow the instructions in the "softmod any 4.2" thread.

    Thanks a lot

    edit: Just wanted to say it's not just when I start up the Wii but if I play a game from Gecko and then hit the menu button and return to menu then it also goes back to priiloader, nothing I do will get it to go back to the original system menu..
    Last edited by cloudskipa; 12-28-2009 at 10:22 AM.

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 2,010 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Did you install the ios70-patched?

  11. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    yes I done that step, which is step 5 of the "softmod for any 4.2" guide located here http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...y-4-2-wii.html is that correct? the only one I missed out was the one marked (optional) step 6.

    My priiloader is running off IOS v70 if that helps?

    thanks
    Last edited by cloudskipa; 12-28-2009 at 10:33 AM.

  12. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 2,010 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Ok just do as hyped suggested. i have not used priiloader and his/her post was most informative.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •