Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: Loaders wont find WD passport 320gb

  1. #11
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try USB Loader 1.5 by Waninkoko. It gives error codes when it fails to do stuff.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  2. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Loaded usb loader 1.5, said no WBFS partitions found, so i chose to create one, then got the -6 error, no partitions found.

    -6:
    SD/USB Loader Error Partition not Found. Most likely have a cIOS installed incorrectly, out of date, or missing. Possibly formatted the device incorrectly or device is not compatible yet.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    You did try the other usb port? cause i didn't see that you answered that.

  4. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Yup, used both ports

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Since this is pretty odd, I'm gonna put all the strange ideas out there. Thinking the connection could be hokey, Is it a standard usb cable, can you try another one?

  6. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    The side that goes into the hdd is unfortunatly different to any that i can find lying around, but when the HDD is plugged into the wii, the power light turns on and stays on, but when a loader is trying to find the drive, the HDD light flashes, as if it is actually doing something but the loader just wont pick it up

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Well, i took the 320gb HDD back to the shop today and replaced it with a 250gb WD my passport essential, and the same thing occurs, so it almost certainly has to be problems with how i softmodded.

    When i followed through the guide i got 0 errors, everything appeared fine, i even updated cios38 to rev16 eariler to see if it would fix rev14(if that was the problem) which installed perfectly but still the wii doesn't recognise my HDD in any loader.

    So what do i do? virginise and start again? re-installing cIOS's doesn't seem to have any effect so there must be something wrong elsewhere

  8. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Sigh...

    followed the virgin wii guide which worked just fine...followed the 3.1-4.1 guide to the dot again...same problem...no loaders will find my 250gb passport, so thats 2 WD passports which should work, that don't.

    Anyone...help...

  9. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
    im no expert but try it with thw drive fomatted with just 1 wbfs partition and use a sd card for the config and covers. its just an idea in case the programmes dont like such a big fat partition on the drive. i myself have been running all mine with a sd card and only just the other night reformatted the hdd with a fat partition but its really small at 3gb unlike your 50 gb.
    sorry if im a twat with a daft idea buts its the only one i have apart from from faulty usb ports on youe Wii!

  10. 1 User Says Thank You pkx3ni For This Useful Post


  11. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Have tried it with the HDD being formatted in a million ways now all coming out with identical results

    Thought it could be faulty USB ports aswell - but tried playing vocals in GH:WT and the mic worked perfectly in both slots so thats ruled out too.

    Seems certainly to be software in the wii related now...but with everything having installed exactly how the guide says it should...i'm completely dumbfounded as to what could be causing this.

    Only other thing i could think of, is that my wii is too old for USB loading, seeings i bought it in Dec'06 when they had just come out

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •