Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can you swap a drive from old Wii into a New one so drive can play backups?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Can you swap a drive from old Wii into a New one so drive can play backups?

    Hi all I've home-brewed two Wii's recently and both work fine.

    However on my old Wii you can play backups from disk but not with my new Black Wii.

    Can you just swap the drives over or do you have to do something else too?


    Many thanks all

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,579 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    I don't think so. you have to swap out the drive controller on the mainboard.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    and also i think with the new boards they have what the 360 had for the drive and the motherboard having keys that had to match and that is a pain....

    just usb load - much easier

  5. 1 User Says Thank You emuhack For This Useful Post


  6. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,579 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    If you want a black wii so bad see about skins or painting it.

  7. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yeh I've flashed a few 360 I had feeling Wii might be similar.

    I use USB just wondered.

    Thanks guys!

  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I just bought a LU666xxx wii and swapped in a D2b drive from an old wii. Installed the lastest Drivekey and it will not work at all. No menu, no play any type of disc. Maybe my Drivekey is DOA. No lights.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •