Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How important is it to update my wii?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How important is it to update my wii?

    How important is it to update my wii? My wii is modified, and it has never been updated it before, I think im still running on 3.2u or something like that. Recently I have unsuccessful attempts to burn my own ISO images, but none of the had worked. Would updating my wii firmware fix it? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    I THOUGHT WE COVERED THIS. you need to know how your wii is modified. if it is a modchip, and that's all it will ever be. then you have to use updating to get the system files needed. the best way to do this is updating from disk as the official nintendo update will take you to a point that you will loose region free ability. if you softmod or plan to in addition to a modchip. you will not want to update at all. simply install the ios files needed to play the games

  3. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh, right. My bad, I was just not sure if my outdated firmware could be the problem why my wii is not playing my ISO games. Thanks for all your help, really appreciate it!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    i'ts ok if you don't understand. it is something new to you, but you have to tell us what you don't understand. if you keep asking the same question, you will get the same answer. unless you want a second opinion, in which case, no one would blame you for that either ,just ask. most important thing is to find out how your wii is modded. and as i explained the system menu version (what you are refering to as firmware) does carry updated ios files, but it also carries things to stop wii modding. so it is best to find a way around updating if possible.
    Last edited by oddgriffin; 12-18-2009 at 10:31 PM.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks oddgriffin. I really appreciate your help and patience. I'm just really frustrated that I couldnt get the ISO to work, and kind of confused. If you dont mind, lets recap.

    I'm trying to figure out why my wii couldn't run the games I burned from ISO images.

    First, I have to find out if my wii is soft mod or chip mod. I'm pretty sure its chip mod, but I'm not 100 percent sure. How can I tell if my system is chip mod or soft mod? What are the difference?

    Second, for the system update, I understand now that if my system is chip mod, then I can just rent the newest mario game and use the game to update to the newest firmware, which is 4.3u I believe? But will updating the the firmware solve my problem of not able to run my ISO copies?? I know some games, such as Dead space, which I burned, prompted me to upgrade the system. However, I was scared to do. Other games I have successfully burned, but they dont run in my wii at all, all of them said could not identifies the disc, and one of the games ( Jurassic Hunt) shows the loading screen, but freezes when I press start.

    What should I do to be able to use my own ISO games? I know for sure that my wii can play DVD-R burnt games because the games I bought from the store, which modified my wii, are all DVD R burnt games. But I could not get it to run my own burnt games, and there is no way for me to contact the shop for help. What are my next steps as of right now.

    Thank you once again!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    so you purchased dvd-r disks that had games on them that worked. are you using the disk channel to play them, or another channel to launch disks? is there a homebrew channel on your wii?

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    i would try to do this mod so you can finally know for sure what you have on your wii. it will not hurt if you have a modchip and if you want you can go to system menu 4.1, which will enable a couple of good features.
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html

  9. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  10. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oddgriffin View Post
    so you purchased dvd-r disks that had games on them that worked. are you using the disk channel to play them, or another channel to launch disks? is there a homebrew channel on your wii?
    Yes, the games I purchased are Mitsubishi's DVD-R disks, and they worked fine. I just put them into my wii, and it auto loads like a normal game. I do not have a homebrew channel, what does it do?

    as of right now, should I rent the new mario game and do a system update? Every time I try to do anything on wifi with my wii, it prompts me to update. (Actually, I didnt know wii has wifi until today)

  11. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hm, I did not know that the brands of DVD-R matters too. I been using no brand DVD-R to copy my ISOs, maybe that is the problem. I'm looking to get the verbatim DVD-R at fry's. anybody knows that this would be fine? ( The copied games that I bought used Mitsubishi DVD-Rs) FRYS.com*|*Verbatim

    Also, will the brand of the burner matter too? I read some article where it stresses the importance of the burner when creating ISO files, how about when copying ISO files? I currently have an ATAPI DVD DD 2X16X4X16. Do I need to change a burner too? Thanks!

  12. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    i use memorex or sony becuase they are most readily available in stores. burn at 4x. i am thinking you have a modchip and the disk update would be the best coarse of action, if you do not want to softmod. i could be wrong and you may have Cioscorp or simular installed. if so it will mess you up and you will end up having to softmod anyway.

  13. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •