Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: General question about softmodding?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    travel
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    General question about softmodding?

    Ive been following the site for awhile and have read the guides (thanks to those who posted/created the tutorials btw) I think i have the basics down to insert homebrew.

    My question is this im about to softmod wii 4.0u. What i want to be able to do is have all the ios (past as well as current) the program that enables hd/sd loading, the ability to play gamecube backups, as well a emulators.

    I see there are guides how to do all this seperately but i would like to simply do all the hacks at one time. The region free, the virual console etc...

    So my question is i have found the various wad files including thr rockband wii sports music etc, the usb loader, neogamma, and the emulators. I have placed them in folders.

    Can i just all at once install on a virgin wii. Also when install the wii softmod do i need to have an established internet signal. I have a home network but im not sure if the wii is recieving the signal.

    Any guidance and help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Don't try to do things out of order. One thing at a time, follow a tutorial first and that will get you to about where you want to be. As far as USB loading, the tutorial will get you to install the files you need on the Wii, but you will need to find a compatible USB HDD [link is in my sig]. There is also 2 good tutorials on USB loading and how to get it done. Since this is your first post,

    Welcome to WiiHacks,

    Take the time to read the RULES! of the site, you don't wanna be sent to the Reading Room, or worse, Banned because you broke a rule of the site

    Please take a look at this link for any answers to most of your questions/problems New Member Introductions [thanks ShadowSonic]

    BUT!!! Before asking a question please visit THIS! thread..... [thanks FAVS]

    If your on the 3.1 - 4.1 System Menu then you may want to start HERE! [thanks Dogeggs]

    If your on the 4.2 System Menu, then THIS! is where you want to be. [Please note, DO NOT update to 4.2 if you arn't already] [thanks messie]

    Getting an error while trying to do something? The Answer is HERE! [thanks messie]

    Wanna know what all this cIOS/IOS talk is all about....Then check THIS! thread out. [thanks Cressida]

    Any other questions/answers that were not covered, then please ask them HERE! [thanks ModderMan for the awesome site]

    Please read, reAD, READ till your eyes bleed. Go over everything until your sure you can attempt these mods. You don't want a bricked Wii because of a step you might have missed.

    Have Fun! and Good Luck!!!!

    Regards,
    s0ur

  3. #3
    Member siphilips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,639
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 421 Times in 340 Posts
    You need to do all the steps / hacks in the correct order so you can get your Wii, set up for region free gaming, VC, etc

    Follow this guide, and at the end of the tutorial is extras such as USB loaders and emulators etc.

    Below is the guide you need to follow to the letter!

    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.6 | Internet Channel | Sys Menu 4.1e | NeoGamma R8 b15 | Preloader .30 r3 | cIOS38 r14 | Wad Manager 1.5 | cIOSCORP 3.5 | DVDX v2 | Mplayer CE | WiiGator GC Backup Launcher Ver 2.0 | Wii64 Nintendo 64 Emulator | Homebrew Browser V 0.3.6 | IOSCheck V 0.3.6







  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    s0ur, when I click on the link to see what HDD's are compatible it says the link is broken.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Site seems to be down for the moment, try again later. Sorry about that but I can't control a website. :P

  6. #6
    Member siphilips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,639
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 421 Times in 340 Posts
    GBAtemp - downtime currently
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.6 | Internet Channel | Sys Menu 4.1e | NeoGamma R8 b15 | Preloader .30 r3 | cIOS38 r14 | Wad Manager 1.5 | cIOSCORP 3.5 | DVDX v2 | Mplayer CE | WiiGator GC Backup Launcher Ver 2.0 | Wii64 Nintendo 64 Emulator | Homebrew Browser V 0.3.6 | IOSCheck V 0.3.6







  7. 1 User Says Thank You siphilips For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    travel
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for the help, to the person above i checked with the compatibility chart, and i have a hdd that will work fine. So best bet is to just start off with the basic homebrew. then add other aspects such as the usb loaders. Oh one other question some ppl say you need a gamecube controller some people say it isnt neccesary. I hope it isnt because i do not have one at the moment.

  9. #8
    Member siphilips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,639
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 421 Times in 340 Posts
    You only need a Gamecube controller for when the Wii goes into lockout or to play Gamecube games.
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.6 | Internet Channel | Sys Menu 4.1e | NeoGamma R8 b15 | Preloader .30 r3 | cIOS38 r14 | Wad Manager 1.5 | cIOSCORP 3.5 | DVDX v2 | Mplayer CE | WiiGator GC Backup Launcher Ver 2.0 | Wii64 Nintendo 64 Emulator | Homebrew Browser V 0.3.6 | IOSCheck V 0.3.6







  10. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by siphilips View Post
    You only need a Gamecube controller for when the Wii goes into lockout or to play Gamecube games.
    Or if you have BootMii as IOS as the Wii face buttons don't work while in BootMii IOS (at least I think, lol)

  11. #10
    Member siphilips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,639
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 421 Times in 340 Posts
    Yep, s0ur lol, that as well, if you don't want to use the Power, Reset or Eject buttons on the Wii
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.6 | Internet Channel | Sys Menu 4.1e | NeoGamma R8 b15 | Preloader .30 r3 | cIOS38 r14 | Wad Manager 1.5 | cIOSCORP 3.5 | DVDX v2 | Mplayer CE | WiiGator GC Backup Launcher Ver 2.0 | Wii64 Nintendo 64 Emulator | Homebrew Browser V 0.3.6 | IOSCheck V 0.3.6







Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •