Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Noob questions about bootmii and IOS wads

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Noob questions about bootmii and IOS wads

    When I softmoded my wii a while ago, I didn't read the background of what I was doing. I followed instructions and did it without knowing what I was doing and I got it working. Ive recently been learning what I did.

    I installed bootmii (I believe as boot2). Now I want to make a NAND backup. How do I get bootmii to startup? Sometimes the first time I turn it on in a day bootmii starts and after that and subsequent resets or turning it off and on, it doesn't come up again.

    And about IOS wads and apps. After I've installed the wads for IOS, I can remove them from my sd card right? How about the apps I've used when setting up the softmod like cMIOS installers, and downgraders?

    EDIT: One last thing I remembered. Is there anythingelse I should do for a backup besides bootmii? I've heard priiloader is good, but isn't nescessary if bootmii is installed on boot2.
    Last edited by footclan; 12-07-2009 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Qu

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    you can remove the installers you dont need. have the sd card in the wii and power down completely before powering up, if that doesn't work make sure the bootmi folder is in the root of the sd card

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    There was an option in the BootMii installer to "prepare your SD card" this should have been done as it will create a "bootmii" folder on your SD along with the 3 files bootmii needs to run [bootmii.ini, ppcboot.elf and armboot.bin]

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried that. Bootmii is in the root and has 3 files. Armboot.bin, bootmii.ini, and ppcboot.elf.

    I just tried unplugging it from the wall and plugging it back and no luck either. Like I said though, I see it probably to first time I turn my wii on in a day.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    is there a controller or something plugged in?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There was. I just unplugged it and tried it. I use one for playing so bootmii has started with and without it. Earlier today when started it wasn't in it.

    Maybe it was starting all the time and I took it off the auto start. I don't remember....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    for some reason i had to unplug it or else it wouldn't work the after bootmi loaded i plugged it back in.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    you may also want to try backing up everything on your SD card to your PC, then just transferring the bootmii folder back, and try loading it up again. There may be a conflicting file in it. Also BootMii is very picky about certain SD cards, what SD card are you using? And as stated by oddgriffin, there should be no gamecube controllers or gamecube memory cards inserted into the console.

    Glad everything worked out
    Last edited by s0ur; 12-07-2009 at 05:11 PM. Reason: too slow :P

  9. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I changed cards. I'm using micro SD's in an adapter and the one in my DS was Kingston and the one in my wii was a no name. The second I replaced it bootmii came up.

    Now is there an option to only have it come up when I want it to? Or is better to leave it like this?

  11. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    You just need to remove the bootmii folder from the SD card for BootMii to not load anhymore.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •