Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Virgin 4.2U - Softmodded and needs final help.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicagoland Zone (Lost Level From Sonic)
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Us Virgin 4.2U - Softmodded and needs final help.

    My friend obtained a Wii and someone just updated it to 4.2U.
    Wanting to run backups, I have been the chosen one to do this for him.

    I have HBC installed and the Stub corrected on 249. I did install cISO 3.5 set. The neogamma R7 & R8 beta's work fine with loading backups. Original Wii titles work fine. What I is to be able to load a backup DVD and run it from the Disc Channel. What else do I need to do to get this running properly.

    My Wii have Preloader on it and I like the lockout features on startup. I went forth to install Preloader on the 4.2U Wii and its giving me a hack.ini error. I have been researching like crazy yesterday and seeing that I have to use a 1GIG SD instead of a 2GIG SD cards or even the hacks.ini has to be modified. I am at a loss here. I need help on getting this functioning properly.

    Last thing for now, I was trying to reinstall the BootMi and seeing there Cios in the system it will not let me move forward. Any way around this? After Preloader was basic installed it seclects the IOS 70 for bootup. I can run the games as I stated above but really need that Disc channel working for backups.

    Thanks for the help that may come...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Were you using the 4.2 guide from this forum? Honestly it sounds like a hodge podge of modding fails... It's fixable, don't get me wrong, but you really need to use one of our guides.

    Also, unless you have a chip or cioscorps (I wouldn't recommend) you need to launch all backups through a backup launcher like neogamma or usbloaderGX. Hope this helps you out.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicagoland Zone (Lost Level From Sonic)
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Us

    See when I hacked my Wii, I run everything from the Disc Channel.
    The Wii I am working on now has not come to that level yet.

    I did get the Preloader .30 installed and it is still needing that hacks.ini file. I have one from my unit but, it is not working.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    He definately did not follow a guide from here as he has installed cIOSCORP [he stated "I did install cISO 3.5 set" I can only conclude that he means cIOSCORP 3.5], I weep for you my boy.

    djhotwheel, what do you mean it's not working, are you getting the "can't find hacks in SD or fat32" problem? And what System Menu are you running?
    Last edited by s0ur; 12-06-2009 at 08:39 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,570 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by s0ur View Post
    He definately did not follow a guide from here as he has installed cIOSCORP [he stated "I did install cISO 3.5 set" I can only conclude that he means cIOSCORP 3.5], I weep for you my boy.

    djhotwheel, what do you mean it's not working, are you getting the "can't find hacks in SD or fat32" problem? And what System Menu are you running?
    what i dont understand is, and please tell me if i seem crazy, you do a mod on a wii that allows you to play backup disks. now you can can get any game for free if you so choose to. the only thing is, now you have to use a different channel to load disks. a channel that not only allows you to play games from other regions, but has other fixes and ocinara codes. why are people so hell-bent on using the disk channel?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oddgriffin View Post
    what i dont understand is, and please tell me if i seem crazy, you do a mod on a wii that allows you to play backup disks. now you can can get any game for free if you so choose to. the only thing is, now you have to use a different channel to load disks. a channel that not only allows you to play games from other regions, but has other fixes and ocinara codes. why are people so hell-bent on using the disk channel?
    Laziness and supposed "Ease of Use". I have stated to Tealc about the same problem, when I was a newb [before comming across this great community] I had installed cIOSCORP myself. It seemed awesome at the time, just throw this installer into HBC and fire it up and let it go. After it's done, everything can be run from the Disc Channel, i mean think about it, how much easier could you get. But then when I learned more, I learned my lesson, lol. Took me a long time to remove all remnants of cIOSCORP.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicagoland Zone (Lost Level From Sonic)
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Us

    My wii was guided off from the Afterdawn.com hacks about March 09?

    The Disc Channel is much easier when you have a 5yr old who wants to throw a backup into the system and play. Were talking on the Thomas & Friends level here. He destroys DVDs and he like to play some of the older ROMS of Mario Teaches and Thomas games and such. The Wii that I have is going to end up the same way. The owner has 4 little girls who are going to have a lot of fun for Xmas.

    I personally am not a pirate. I have tried games to see if I like them. If I do, I buy them. Most games are junk and end up in the trash. I learned my lesson after Dreamcast games. I must of gained over 300+ titles. Maybe played 20 of them seriously.

    So asking again politely, can I get some help on this please for what I am trying to do and not critique what I am doing with it. You guys seem to be the top dogs on the web for this subjects. I would hope for nothing but the best.
    Thanks.

  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by djhotwheel View Post
    My wii was guided off from the Afterdawn.com hacks about March 09?

    The Disc Channel is much easier when you have a 5yr old who wants to throw a backup into the system and play. Were talking on the Thomas & Friends level here. He destroys DVDs and he like to play some of the older ROMS of Mario Teaches and Thomas games and such. The Wii that I have is going to end up the same way. The owner has 4 little girls who are going to have a lot of fun for Xmas.

    I personally am not a pirate. I have tried games to see if I like them. If I do, I buy them. Most games are junk and end up in the trash. I learned my lesson after Dreamcast games. I must of gained over 300+ titles. Maybe played 20 of them seriously.

    So asking again politely, can I get some help on this please for what I am trying to do and not critique what I am doing with it. You guys seem to be the top dogs on the web for this subjects. I would hope for nothing but the best.
    Thanks.
    I am not understanding what you want. Do you want the ability to load discs through the disc channel or do you just need help with preloader?

    If it's the case of running games through the disc channel then you will either need to hardmod or install cIOSCORP.

    As far as preloader you need to create a new txt file on the root of your SD card, then go WiiBrew [sorry I can't post a direct link as it seems WiiBrew is down for right now] And find the appropriate hacks for the system menu that the Wii is on you want to install the hacks too, then "Save As" hacks.ini. Easy Peasy.

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chicagoland Zone (Lost Level From Sonic)
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yes the HACKS.INI txt to ini file. I was thinking about that but, I did not want to risk something.

    As for the Disc Channel CISOCORP is loaded but, the Disc Channel does not see the DVD-R's.
    Unless I am missing some steps on the CISO somewhere.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ya Oddgriffin is right, screw running through disc channel, i got my 4.2 u this week and sofmodded, run everything from my 300Gb sata drive because IT WORKS. The more you screw around the more you run a chance of brick, keep it simple stupids, neogama and usbloader are all i need and the new update of NES, SNES and other emus load from fat32 partitions on the same HD that is running your WSBC. WHY USE DISCS???? waste of dvd-R is you ask me

  12. 1 User Says Thank You inferno1007 For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •