Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do I install bootmii in boot2?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How do I install bootmii in boot2?

    I'm in the middle of installing software on my wii following the guides provided on these forums.

    In this guide, it clearly emphasises the need to back up the NAND in case the console "bricks". However, it also states that such a back up is NOT recommended to use if bootmii is installed as an IOS.

    When I installed bootmii, there really wasn't any choice. The only option was "install bootmii as IOS", so that's what I did.

    How do I install bootmii in boot2 or how do I back up and save my functioning NAND while running bootmii as an IOS?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    You can only install bootmii as boot2 on older wiis. You can still do a NAND backup if you want.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    So if my Wii gets bricked, I can still load the old NAND even if bootmii is installed as an IOS? That is contradictory to the guide I followed here on these forums.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    You would have seen some message saying something like installation of bootsomething prevents install of boot2, bootmii can only be installed as an ios.

    Really dependent on how old your wii is. Bootmii as an ios might be useful someday, but boot2 seems to be the only thing that makes you invincible as of now.

  5. #5
    New Member HEROXOOT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    475
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Installing as a boot2 is much safer as you dont need to go through the wii menu. Just run the bootmii installer, go to bootmii. Prep SD card first, then go to install bootmii as boot2, install, exit installer.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Hero- not everyone can install as boot2. Some can only install as ios. I've softmodded about 15 wiis of people I know and only 2 could install as boot2.

  7. #7
    New Member HEROXOOT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    475
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by junkmailturds View Post
    Hero- not everyone can install as boot2. Some can only install as ios. I've softmodded about 15 wiis of people I know and only 2 could install as boot2.
    I thought some people couldnt install as a IOS. :/ Hacking has gotten way to hard. Unless they have that new bootloader, it should work.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •