Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Blank screen after cios update

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Blank screen after cios update

    Please Help

    Had .3 gamma backup launcher. tried to update to Neogamma 8 with a cios38rev14 through the sd card. Went to wad manager and updated but on restart all i get is a blank screen after the Nintendo wii press A to continue screen .

    Can I fix this. Or is my system Bricked.

    Thanks for the help Darryl

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    Please Help

    Had .3 gamma backup launcher. tried to update to Neogamma 8 with a cios38rev14 through the sd card. Went to wad manager and updated but on restart all i get is a blank screen after the Nintendo wii press A to continue screen .

    Can I fix this. Or is my system Bricked.

    Thanks for the help Darryl
    You need to uninstall the last few wads you installed. Probably you installed a neogamma wad and it is no good.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. 2 Users Say Thank You to mauifrog For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Mauifrog. But how do I do that if I can't even get to the wii channels screen. Do I unistall the wads on my sd card at the computer and then put it back in the wii. I have no options at the wii itself.

  5. #4
    Junior Member Jasons34's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,295
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 455 Times in 350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Wait... If your unable to enter any of the wii settings screens, then you have a semi brick. It could be a banner brick caused by the bad wad you installed.
    If I have helped you in any way, please thank me by pressing the little thanks button.

  6. 1 User Says Thank You Jasons34 For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok How can I get around this. I mean the wii starts up I can't get to the settings screen. should I delete the wads I just put on the sd card and try again. or is it to late.

  8. #6
    Junior Member Jasons34's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,295
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 455 Times in 350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well deleting the wads off the sd card wont change anything because those wads were installed to the wii itself. Since you cant go into settings and delete that channel, you could always run wad manager again and instead of pressing the (+) to install the wad, press (-) to uninstall. The only problem is this wont fix your brick. You can fix that by popping in a game that has a disc update on it and run that update. You might lose some softmods but you can reinstall those. I would rather have to reinstall those than to not be able to get into the settings.
    If I have helped you in any way, please thank me by pressing the little thanks button.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You Jasons34 For This Useful Post


  10. #7
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    Thanks Mauifrog. But how do I do that if I can't even get to the wii channels screen. Do I unistall the wads on my sd card at the computer and then put it back in the wii. I have no options at the wii itself.
    First try to enter maintinace mode at the health screen. Hold + & -, then push A. If it works your wii will boot into maintinace mode. From there you should be able to uninstall the bad wad.

    If that fails your life will be much easier if you have preloader, or boot2 bootmii. If you don't have those you will need to use savemiifrii, which usually requires a modchip.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  11. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Jason. I have links crossbow That should do it. I know I will update the wii. But like you said I would rather work around reinstalling some softmods even start from scratch. I guess I got some bad wads installed.
    I'll try it and see. Thanks to both of you. I'll let you know if the game fixes the problem I might have more questions. but having members like you guys makes the site worth coming to for help. Hope I can be of some help to someone in the future

    thanks again Darryl

  12. #9
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Updating your wii will not fix a banner brick. You will be updated and will likly still have the trouble.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  13. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well I just tried the + and - with the A and nothing . It takes me to the blank screen again. and I don't think I had boot2 bootmii on the sd card. So is this considered a fully bricked wii. Or should I dig a little deeper.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •