Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Blank screen after cios update

  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A few more Questions before unbricking.

    Hey guys sorry for being a noob about this and always adding to this post. But I just wanted to be sure of what to do after installing the chip. I downloaded two disks. one is the wii back up disk v 1.31 which will bring be back to virgin wii with a mod chip. or universal unbrick disc v2 which will let me erase the bad wads i installed keeping my hbc. I dont know which would be the best to use. If I want to install any autobooting wads would I not have to keep the hbc. Reading some of the hack installs here I thought it would be better to start fresh with the twilight hack and getting all the updated launchers and wads included in the download. Also my version is 3.4 and it sounds like everybody else is running a newer version. Should I start clean and update my firmware first..

    Again sorry for all the questions. I just wanted to get this right. After all this trouble..Thanks Darryl

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    Hey guys sorry for being a noob about this and always adding to this post. But I just wanted to be sure of what to do after installing the chip. I downloaded two disks. one is the wii back up disk v 1.31 which will bring be back to virgin wii with a mod chip. or universal unbrick disc v2 which will let me erase the bad wads i installed keeping my hbc. I dont know which would be the best to use. If I want to install any autobooting wads would I not have to keep the hbc. Reading some of the hack installs here I thought it would be better to start fresh with the twilight hack and getting all the updated launchers and wads included in the download. Also my version is 3.4 and it sounds like everybody else is running a newer version. Should I start clean and update my firmware first..

    Again sorry for all the questions. I just wanted to get this right. After all this trouble..Thanks Darryl
    It does not really matter, which ever you prefer, and whichever one will work.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You mauifrog For This Useful Post


  4. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok. This is never ending. I wish somebody around town worked on these. I installed my chip (checked cables twice all in proper order. and switch is set to Canada 1 up 2 down. Didn't assemble the console yet and tried to load the univ. recovery disk. after setting the GC controller. The disk spins for a second and then stops. nothing loads. I'm trying the other download ( wii recovery disk) But I would think both should load. But nothing.

    Any ideas
    Thanks Darryl

    Oh and should I have my sd card in with the bad wads while I do this.

  5. #34
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    Ok. This is never ending. I wish somebody around town worked on these. I installed my chip (checked cables twice all in proper order. and switch is set to Canada 1 up 2 down. Didn't assemble the console yet and tried to load the univ. recovery disk. after setting the GC controller. The disk spins for a second and then stops. nothing loads. I'm trying the other download ( wii recovery disk) But I would think both should load. But nothing.

    Any ideas
    Thanks Darryl

    Oh and should I have my sd card in with the bad wads while I do this.
    You may have to try a few disks to make it work. The chip is pre-configured to auto boot, yes?
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  6. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I thought it was
    how can I tell.
    somebody ordered it for me

    Ok Mauifrog. I just loaded the wii backup disk and that one worked. So I guess I have hit delete all and start all over with the homebrew if I want it right. I'm kinda lost here.
    Last edited by DarrylM; 12-11-2009 at 04:33 PM.

  7. #36
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    I thought it was
    how can I tell.
    somebody ordered it for me
    Try to boot some original game title in it. Also try to remove and reinsert the disk.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  8. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok tried to load raving rabbids 2 original and nothing loads. just spins. but i can load the wii recovery disk. with my bad sd card in. Now it gives me options delete all , restore, change wiiid ?

  9. #38
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    Ok tried to load raving rabbids 2 original and nothing loads. just spins. but i can load the wii recovery disk. with my bad sd card in. Now it gives me options delete all , restore, change wiiid ?
    Delete all should remove any bad wads, but you'll have to softmod all over again.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  10. 1 User Says Thank You mauifrog For This Useful Post


  11. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just did the delete all. brought me back to original wii. loaded original game (worked great) loaded backup (worked great). Do I really need softmod again.? or should I have it for pal games. And should I upgrade from 3.4 before softmodding.

    And mauifrog thanks for all the help! Your definitely a great mod teacher..lol

    Darryl

  12. #40
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrylM View Post
    I just did the delete all. brought me back to original wii. loaded original game (worked great) loaded backup (worked great). Do I really need softmod again.? or should I have it for pal games. And should I upgrade from 3.4 before softmodding.

    And mauifrog thanks for all the help! Your definitely a great mod teacher..lol

    Darryl
    If you wish to update, just follow the 3.1-4.1 guide below, which will bring your wii up to 4.1, enable usb game loading, etc.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  13. 1 User Says Thank You mauifrog For This Useful Post


Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •