Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DVD Copy played once and now no copies play

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DVD Copy played once and now no copies play

    Guys,

    I am a newbie to this forum.
    I have modded my WII with DRive Key. (X4 chip).

    I have the DVD drive "Slimtype DVD A DS8A2S ATA Device".

    I have burned my ISO on a KODAK DVD-R disc at 4x speed.
    I have set the advanced book type to Liteon and stated "Slimtype" in the box and clicked on ok. I dont know if this is right, i dont know the OEM.

    It still states its burning a DVD-R, but anyway, it burns the dvd.
    I popped it into my WII and it played once, it worked fine.
    30mins later it will not play again and any other copies i have made will not work. However the originals work fine.

    Can you tell me if i am doing the correct thing when burning?
    Could there be an issue with the Drive Key.

    Does anyone have the same drive as me? I think that would be a start.
    What do you advise?

    Please point me to the right direction.

    Thanks

    Ajay

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,185
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    It could just be your media

    Did you update from the disk?
    Did you update online?

    What system menu are you on? 4.2? Are your games out of your region?
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have added the solderless chip into the WII.
    The DVD copy i have downloaded is an ISO file which i burnt in IMGBurn.

    The thing that it worked once, is what bugs me. Why did it work, why does it not work
    for any new games i have copied. But the important thing is that it still works for originals. So at least we know the drive is fine.


    Ajay

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just checked the menu version, it is 4.2e

    Ajay

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,185
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajayp View Post
    Just checked the menu version, it is 4.2e

    Ajay

    I am going to guess that all of the games that don't work are out of your region and that your wii has be recently updated to 4.2. The 4.2 system menu disables regionfree play from modchips, until a new firmware fixes the issue. Try to download a game in your region, I bet it will work.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The games downloaded were PAL.
    So is that the region, or how to i detect the region in the ISO.

    Please advise.
    But why the game worked the first time is strange dont you think, im up to trying anything. Also i burned on DVD-R, do you recommend a make.

    Ajay

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,185
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajayp View Post
    The games downloaded were PAL.
    So is that the region, or how to i detect the region in the ISO.

    Please advise.
    But why the game worked the first time is strange dont you think, im up to trying anything. Also i burned on DVD-R, do you recommend a make.

    Ajay
    If they are pal, they are in your region and should play. Try to burn a few different games, see if you can load anything. How long has this chip been in the wii? I would be an issue with your clip, perhaps it has come lose. Can you enter the chips settings menu?
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I put the chip into the WII 2 days ago.
    The first time i burned an ISO on a DVD-R, it worked and i played "F1".
    30mins later i tried another game and it failed and F1 also didnt work.

    I have checked the Drive Key Config menu and this works fine.
    The settings are set to factory settings, and i have just checked with a vid on you tube that it is set correctly.

    Ajay

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,185
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajayp View Post
    I put the chip into the WII 2 days ago.
    The first time i burned an ISO on a DVD-R, it worked and i played "F1".
    30mins later i tried another game and it failed and F1 also didnt work.

    I have checked the Drive Key Config menu and this works fine.
    The settings are set to factory settings, and i have just checked with a vid on you tube that it is set correctly.

    Ajay
    If the chip is working as it should, your only logical issue is the media. Order some verbatim dvd -r disks, the slower the better, 8x is all I could find. Then try to burn again. Also try to burn on the default burn settings and changing the write method to incremental, try 2.4x, 1x, 4x.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •