Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Trying to softmod need help please

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    wellingborough,england
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts

    Trying to softmod need help please

    Hi i have recently softmodded my wii and now the father in-law wants his doing so i agreed to give it a bash.Ok so his is a 3.4e and it asked me if i want to upgrade,i did now the system says 4.2e same as mine am i right in thinking that i can just put the stuff i used on my wii onto his or do i need to get a fresh lot? i used the 4.2e hack as featured on this site

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Updating to 4.2 was a bad idea in the first place, but you can still mod it. You will have to mod the console with the 4.2 guide in my sig.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    wellingborough,england
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
    Really a bad idea? damn,so i need to re get all the packs again from the guide.thankyou s0ur for your quick responce

  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    No problem, Good Luck!

  6. #5
    New Member psycho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I think i am right in saying you dont have to get the stuff again if your wii was on 4.2 when you did yours, just use the sd card you used in yours and put it in your father in laws wii and just follow the same guide you did yours with.
    Should all go well.

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    For thoroughness and to make sure there is no conflicting issues, I suggest getting the files again. Of course I have no idea what I am talking about, so do what you wish. It takes 15 seconds to download the new files.

  8. #7
    New Member psycho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    sorry sour did not mean to imply anything. Your advise is far more experienced than mine just trying tohelp out a little..

  9. 1 User Says Thank You psycho For This Useful Post


  10. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    I did not mean to be rough, but whenever you attempt to mod a console, you should always format the card to be sure there is no conflicting issues on the card [such as bannerbomb autolaunching something it shouldn't]. It's always good practice to start the card from scratch for every mod, or every step that requires you put new files on the card. The 4.2 guide has you swap out files more than once anyway.

  11. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    wellingborough,england
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
    right now im really stuck,did steps a1-3 didnt get a bootmii error just successfully stored it as boot2 not as an ios and backed up my NAND.now i took out all parts of the sd card the apps,private and the ios38-64-v3610wad and put on the 3 items in place from sd2 pack i.e bootmii,boot.dol and startup.elf with the wad left from the first pack.now there is no HBC channels nor an option to bootmii from the home menu of HBC im i thick or was i meant to leave the apps on the card too?

  12. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    You installed as boot2 [IOS is the way to get into BootMii from HBC], you need to completely shut down the Wii, then turn it back on with the SD card in the Wii.

    B3)Place the SD card in the wii, start HBC and press home ar the main HBC screen. (If your wii boots to Bootmii, just go to B5)

    Shut down Wii, Restart

    B5)Wadmanager should start.(On ios select, select ios36, or try a few, 249, 250 dunno,we are scratching our heads with this)!!

    B6)Select SD card and press A to continue.

    B7)Select ios249 from wad folder and press A

    B8)change the action to "uninstall wad", press A

    B9)Done!! now to the next step!!
    Last edited by s0ur; 12-02-2009 at 01:33 PM.

  13. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •