Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: SD Card for New 3.1-4.1 Softmod for ANY Wii

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    glasgow scotland
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WiiJohn View Post
    Whatever way forward you choose you will need a working SD card.
    Is your homebrew channel working.
    You should have on your card.
    SD\apps\directories with applications. see if one of these work.
    What is the structure of your SD card. ie layout of directories.
    should i update the wii online. would this solve any problems.

    ive tried yet another sd card, still saying it cant be used.the wii was originally hacked with the twilight application. if i was to find this and reinstall that would it help.

    i dont have the homebrew channel. there are no channels at all. just the basic ones that are on the virgin wii.

    i have internet access on the wii but if i go to update it says it could damage the wii if i have any modification done to it, so obviously not wanting to go ahead until i know for sure about updating online.

  2. #12
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by laurawallace4 View Post
    should i update the wii online. would this solve any problems.

    ive tried yet another sd card, still saying it cant be used.the wii was originally hacked with the twilight application. if i was to find this and reinstall that would it help.

    i dont have the homebrew channel. there are no channels at all. just the basic ones that are on the virgin wii.

    i have internet access on the wii but if i go to update it says it could damage the wii if i have any modification done to it, so obviously not wanting to go ahead until i know for sure about updating online.
    I would not recommend doing an online update.

    Are you saying your Wii is still a virgin.

    If you use the guide to get to 4.1 you will an SD card.
    Or try this http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...0-4-1-wii.html but even this needs an SD card.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    glasgow scotland
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi wii john,
    my wii is not virgin. i had the twilight hack in it, but my friend has deleted the channels on the actual wii, so when i switch it on i only get the basic disc channel for originals, photo channel and shopping channel. my homebrew, gamma, etc have gone.

    i did think he had put the wii back to virgin state but he says no. (needles to say i havnt spoken to him since- the useless..?"!**) anyhoo, when itried to start from the beginning the sd cant be used. tried reinstalling twilight and other ways of hack but always same message.

    dont know where to go from here

  4. #14
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by laurawallace4 View Post
    hi wii john,
    my wii is not virgin. i had the twilight hack in it, but my friend has deleted the channels on the actual wii, so when i switch it on i only get the basic disc channel for originals, photo channel and shopping channel. my homebrew, gamma, etc have gone.

    i did think he had put the wii back to virgin state but he says no. (needles to say i havnt spoken to him since- the useless..?"!**) anyhoo, when itried to start from the beginning the sd cant be used. tried reinstalling twilight and other ways of hack but always same message.

    dont know where to go from here
    The only way I know how to hack it is with an SD card.
    Try different cards, some Wii's are fussy.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    glasgow scotland
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    why do some people say format with fat 16 and others say fat 32. ive tried both just incase that was my problem

  6. #16
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by laurawallace4 View Post
    why do some people say format with fat 16 and others say fat 32. ive tried both just incase that was my problem
    The guides say FAT32, did you try that format tool I sent you.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    glasgow scotland
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi wiijohn,
    yes i did use the format tool and still no luck.
    what hack program would you recommend. ive tried a few but maybe when it comes to loading onto sd im missing something or im not putting onto sd correctly. im fairly new to all this,but i have done my sons wii and he now has EVERY game and all playing. serves me right for asking someone else to do mine.

  8. #18
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by laurawallace4 View Post
    hi wiijohn,
    yes i did use the format tool and still no luck.
    what hack program would you recommend. ive tried a few but maybe when it comes to loading onto sd im missing something or im not putting onto sd correctly. im fairly new to all this,but i have done my sons wii and he now has EVERY game and all playing. serves me right for asking someone else to do mine.
    Ther are two guides you could follow to get to 4.1
    One is if you have homebrew already working and is simpler,
    the other is a start from scratch.

    If you are starting from scratch, new 3.1-4.1 written by Dogeggs

    If you already have Homebrew, upgrade to 4.1 written by Dogeggs

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    glasgow scotland
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    oh dear, ive tried everything to no avail.
    if i let the wii update online with no sd card inserted etc what version would it take me to- 4.1 or 4.2 ??????
    if it took me to 4.1 then i could surely start again with the link you have given me but if it went to 4.2, i wouldnt be able to downgrade and its a lot more complicated to mod 4.2

  10. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    It would bring you to 4.2, and it's not that much more complicated to mod a 4.2 system, only extra step really is deleting the stub249 and using patchedIOS70 instead of patchedIOS60 for preloader.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •