Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Did I brick my wii?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Did I brick my wii?

    Last night my power went out while my wii was updating when I put in the new Super Mario Brothers and the power went out. Now all I get is the Homebrew screen when I boot my wii and can't get it to do anything else. I can load into homebrew via SD card but that is it, can't play any games. I also have no network connection so I can't seem to update to 4.1 or anything. Anyone have any ideas or is it done for?

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Which Homebrew screen?

    Homebrew Channel with the bubbles?

    Bootmii with the 4 icons?

    Preloader screen with the lines of text..System Menu..Homebrew..Load/Install File?

    What was the depth of your softmod before you bricked your Wii?
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The homebrew with the bubbles says 1.0.1 IOS36 v4.18.

    I don't really remember what it was softmodded with before as I did it about 6 months ago.

    Edit: Any help is greatly appreciated and if I get this fixed I'll be sure to make a donation.
    Last edited by droc00; 11-28-2009 at 01:58 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Antgull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello I have a similar problem.
    I was moding a machine and everything went well until....i installed priiloader.
    After the install i booted to priiloader text menu....i made the changes in the settings..choose to boot to system menu etc....when i rebooted my Wii it still goes to this screen.I can go into the homebrew channel but when i try to go to wii system menu
    it will not go.I am trying to install Menu 4.1u to see if it fixes the problem.

  5. #5
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    droc - Are you able to launch any apps from the homebrew channel? Such as Wad manager?

    antgull - Yes reinstalling System IOS & System Menu usually fixes that type of issue.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  6. 2 Users Say Thank You to Tealc For This Useful Post


  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    yes, I can load the WAD Manager, cIOS38r14 Installer, Firmware updater 4.1, PriiLoader and Trucha Bug Restore. Since I have no network initialized and cannot access anyting to initialize it, I cannot run the updater to 4.1 which is what I was thinking needed to be done.

  8. #7
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok that's brilliant.

    You don't need to use firmware updater 4.1 as it can be done manually and offline.

    First off you need IOS60patched IOS60patched.rar

    Then you can grab NUS Downloader NUS Downloader - WiiBrew and download the System Menu 4.1 you need. Make sure you check Pack>WAD on the front of the app. This app is one of the best ever.

    Priiloader will need a fresh install after you are done.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  9. 5 Users Say Thank You to Tealc For This Useful Post


  10. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank You very much for the help! My wii is now operational except for playing the new Super Mario for some reason but I only rented it so whatever. Now time to remod it and send a donation your way. Thanks again.

    Edit: Followed the guides to softmod and mario works again!
    Last edited by droc00; 11-28-2009 at 04:07 PM.

  11. #9
    Junior Member Antgull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My problem was resolved also.....thanks for the quick reply

  12. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a different problem that relates to this thread's title - I installed Homebrew and did the 4.0 updater successfully. The IOS60/61 also updated successfully. However at that point I tried to restart and the Wii is now unresponsive, black screen on startup. What should I try?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •