Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: issues after doing softmod

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've got the same problem that no apps will start anymore from SD after using USB loader. At installation of cIOS I got indeed some error messages. After the whole process I discovered I didn't have IOS 249 that is needed for playing back-up games and USB loader. Anyway..after my trial to unlock the WII I tried to play WII resort. To play WII resort I had to update the software. A little bit scary but I did it anyway. After that I could play WII resort and the apps on the SD card were working again. But I still don't have IOS 249. Can anybody tell me what to do next? I have a WII black limited edition version 4.1E.

  2. #12
    Member Dami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    my house? XD
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dtstewy View Post
    you know i thought that was kinda wierd to...so you think that's the problem then? all i have to do is install the rev 14 then??

    i'm just afraid if i run the TBR or cIOS installer again i'll brick...so i should be ok to do this??
    you should be ok in running it again

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by dtstewy View Post
    you know i thought that was kinda wierd to...so you think that's the problem then? all i have to do is install the rev 14 then??

    i'm just afraid if i run the TBR or cIOS installer again i'll brick...so i should be ok to do this??
    well lets see. we come to a point where you are uncertain if the outcome of the next step will do harm. let's use those backup plans to be safe. did you ever get preloader installed? and bootmi is it as an ios or boot2? we should do a nand backup now so if we need to we can go back to this point. i really don't think installing the rev14 would harm anything, but that guide you were folowing was strange enough for me to second guess things.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Odd griffin's right. Bricks happen when you mess with an IOS that the system menu runs off of. Think of it this way: If you delete your pictures folder from your PC nothing happens except you lose your pictures. If you delete the WINDOWS folder you are in trouble. Installing CIOS38rev14 is altering IOS249 which is what homebrew runs off of. Rule 1 of wii hacking is never screw with any ios under 200 unless you know what you're doing. No harm will come or reinstalling cios38rev14. Never update your firmware to solve a problem with a game. There are plenty of people around here that run off of 3.2 and can still play new games.

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oddgriffin View Post
    well lets see. we come to a point where you are uncertain if the outcome of the next step will do harm. let's use those backup plans to be safe. did you ever get preloader installed? and bootmi is it as an ios or boot2? we should do a nand backup now so if we need to we can go back to this point. i really don't think installing the rev14 would harm anything, but that guide you were folowing was strange enough for me to second guess things.
    yes i do have preloader installed, and bootmii is loaded as IOS, could not do it as boot2, running 4.0. i did the nand backup when i followed doggeggs tutorial already...that's all ok, it's just the other thing that was a problem...

    so i noticed when i go into the HBC there is an option for the cIOS installer, is that what i will use to do this??

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by dtstewy View Post
    yes i do have preloader installed, and bootmii is loaded as IOS, could not do it as boot2, running 4.0. i did the nand backup when i followed doggeggs tutorial already...that's all ok, it's just the other thing that was a problem...

    so i noticed when i go into the HBC there is an option for the cIOS installer, is that what i will use to do this??
    the cios rev14 installer yes. you understand what i was getting at? the prior nand backup was prior to installing a cios and adding any ios files. if something were to happen and we could get preloader running to take us to the HBC we could restore it if we had to.

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok, so do another nand backup first right now then?? sorry i'm a realllll noob...hehe...

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,558 Times in 2,004 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by dtstewy View Post
    ok, so do another nand backup first right now then?? sorry i'm a realllll noob...hehe...
    you could but i would save the other one to the pc. that way you can decide do i wanna start fresh or go back to the point where i was having a problem, since installing the rev14 should be fine, if it caused a problem there must be more issues than that. worse case scenerio could go back to the begining. oh what fun that would be lol. just keeping your options open do what you think is best

  9. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oddgriffin View Post
    you could but i would save the other one to the pc. that way you can decide do i wanna start fresh or go back to the point where i was having a problem, since installing the rev14 should be fine, if it caused a problem there must be more issues than that. worse case scenerio could go back to the begining. oh what fun that would be lol. just keeping your options open do what you think is best
    so right now if i want to start fresh again, is there a way to do it with the nand backup??
    actually i was just reading doggeggs tutorial again and it said it is not recommended to do a nand backup if you're running bootmii as an ios, which is what i have...i'm so confused!!!

    would i be ok to eve run the Trucha Bug Restorer part again??
    Last edited by dtstewy; 11-29-2009 at 12:51 PM.

  10. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    anyone with any answer?? i just want to know if it's ok to run the trucha bug restorer again even after doing the softmod successfully...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •