Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Question on bootmill

  1. #1
    New Member Zelda1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Question on bootmill

    So far ive done 4 wii softmods'

    Bootmill should be install in case of brick'

    d). Install Bootmii as boot2 if you can, if not then install it as an IOS

    Then i read this:

    It is not recommended to restore your NAND if you have Bootmii installed as an IOS.


    My question is,

    Whats the piont of backing up with bootmill if i cant restore it with NAND becuase of IOS??

    What can i do to be safe in case of brick when am on a IOS?

    thanx,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,579 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelda1234 View Post
    So far ive done 4 wii softmods'

    Bootmill should be install in case of brick'

    d). Install Bootmii as boot2 if you can, if not then install it as an IOS

    Then i read this:

    It is not recommended to restore your NAND if you have Bootmii installed as an IOS.


    My question is,

    Whats the piont of backing up with bootmill if i cant restore it with NAND becuase of IOS??

    What can i do to be safe in case of brick when am on a IOS?

    thanx,
    lol not sure but i have bootmi installed as an ios and i have restored my nand at least twice and never had any problems. i wouldn't worry about it.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelda1234 View Post
    So far ive done 4 wii softmods'

    Whats the piont of backing up with bootmill if i cant restore it with NAND becuase of IOS??

    What can i do to be safe in case of brick when am on a IOS?

    thanx,
    just a guess - but if you were to screw up something on your wii but not screw it so badly that you cant access bootmii on your IOS, then you could do a NAND restore. OR if you ever want to go back to a virgin state, then you need your NAND.

    I think you are right though... if you really mess things up, your NAND isnt going to do anything unless you have bootmii installed on boot2.

    im just a newbie so I might be wrong... its just how I read things.

  4. 1 User Says Thank You wazzujoel For This Useful Post


  5. #4
    Member Dami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    my house? XD
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
    the new priiloader lets u access IOS bootmii from its menu, and yea if u full brick ur wii, it wont help u.

  6. #5
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by wazzujoel View Post
    just a guess - but if you were to screw up something on your wii but not screw it so badly that you cant access bootmii on your IOS, then you could do a NAND restore. OR if you ever want to go back to a virgin state, then you need your NAND.

    I think you are right though... if you really mess things up, your NAND isnt going to do anything unless you have bootmii installed on boot2.

    im just a newbie so I might be wrong... its just how I read things.
    Your right if your Wii is bricked you can't use Bootmii IOS, for low level problems it works.
    Its worthwhile doing if only from recovering from unwanted setups.

    I was thinking if I was to buy another wii I'd get an old one, pre 2008,
    no D3-2 chip and boot2.

  7. #6
    New Member Zelda1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    wow thanx' Didnt even know i can restore back to virgin state with nand'

    so i always try to keep it at 4.1 when i softmod' will priiloader work on 4.1 and 4.2? do i need it to use bootmil and nand? Lol i thaught it was preloader'

  8. #7
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelda1234 View Post
    wow thanx' Didnt even know i can restore back to virgin state with nand'

    so i always try to keep it at 4.1 when i softmod' will priiloader work on 4.1 and 4.2? do i need it to use bootmil and nand? Lol i thaught it was preloader'
    Bootmii will not take it back to virgin state, only back to backed up state.
    Priiloader will work on 3.2, 4.1, 4.2
    Priiloader has nothing to do with bootmii
    Priiloader is the latest.
    Download it from my sig if you want.

  9. #8
    Member Dami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    my house? XD
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WiiJohn
    Priiloader has nothing to do with bootmii
    accualy it has "something" to do w/ it, ur able to run bootmii from it. So ur good as long as u can run priiloader.

    O btw WiiJohn since u have already priiloader, can u tell me if i need to press only (+) or do i need to hold BOTH(+)+(B) to upgrade from preloader .29?

  10. #9
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Dami View Post
    accualy it has "something" to do w/ it, ur able to run bootmii from it. So ur good as long as u can run priiloader.

    O btw WiiJohn since u have already priiloader, can u tell me if i need to press only (+) or do i need to hold BOTH(+)+(B) to upgrade from preloader .29?
    Bootmii and Priiloader are two separate programs, you can have either one without the other.
    Priiloader prevents bricks,
    Boot2 recovers from them.
    I held + and B for 249, I think the readme says so.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You WiiJohn For This Useful Post


  12. #10
    Member Dami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    my house? XD
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
    o btw whats the difference between holding both and only 1?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •