Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New to Emulators on Wii - plz help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New to Emulators on Wii - plz help

    I've been looking through the forum here and I'm trying to find a thread on hacking my wii. The thing is I don't want to brick my console with the wrong software. I got my wii when it first came out so it has the first firmware, but I would like to update it to the newest firmware that would allow it to play emulators. So could someone direct me to a guide that will allow me to update to the appropriate firmware and will explain how to run emulators on my wii?

    I'm not actually interested in any hombrew besides the emulators. Not sure if that affects what I would need to do or not.

    Really want:
    NES
    SNES
    Genesis

    Would like to have:
    Gameboy advance

    2 additional things:
    1) Do I have to use a SD card or can I use a USB thumb drive.

    2) Another thing is that "New Super Mario Brothers" looks like a really cool game. Would it be possible to play the emulators and use newer games like that?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Give the emulators section of the forums a look. I have all of the emulators you mentioned on my wii. I would recommend using dogeggs's guide in my sig to update to 4.1 and be sure to do the 'optional' preloader part of it. It has saved many people from bricks. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    update

    So if I update to 4.1 I'll be able to run the emulators and I'll be able to play the new mario game?

    I'll definatly do the optional preloader.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    What I suggest you do is download this nice little program called HomeBrew Browser HERE and put it in your apps folder on your SD card, then load it through HBC. You can then browse a bunch of Emulators, Utilities and homebrew Games. You can install them as well through the browser, and they will be installed correctly on the SD card.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks

    Thank you everyone for your help. My wii is fully hacked with 4.1 and can play emulators.

    I haven't bought the new Mario Super Mario Bros. game for it yet but if i purchase the actual game can I play it or is there something I have to do further?

    thanks.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,176
    Thanks
    2,195
    Thanked 2,559 Times in 2,005 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by vandel212 View Post
    Thank you everyone for your help. My wii is fully hacked with 4.1 and can play emulators.

    I haven't bought the new Mario Super Mario Bros. game for it yet but if i purchase the actual game can I play it or is there something I have to do further?

    thanks.
    it should work just fine. i have heard other ppl have problems, then again if you look at the types of problems some ppl have it may come down to the fact that they either didn't follow our guide when they modded their wii, or they did something wrong in the process that wasn't a problem until it came to something like this. if you followed our guide without incident, there shouldn't be any issue

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hmmm

    Well I followed the guide exactly as written, but my homebrew channel was upside down, so I reinstalled it and did the IOS stuff again and now it works fine. Hopefully it won't affect the game.

    Thanks, I'll definatly go out and buy the game.

  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    You didn't have to install the IOSs again. HBC flips because the HackMii guys don't condone piracy, so one you have TruchaBug'd it, it flips the HBC. Alls you had to do was re-install HBC and everything would have been fine. As far as NSMB, as long as you have preloader installed with the proper hack [skip update disc or something or other] then you should be fine granted you have the proper IOS installed for the game.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •