Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: system files corrupt. Lovely.

  1. #1
    New Member shorty1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    system files corrupt. Lovely.

    So I hacked my wii about a year ago to a custom Wanikoko 3.2 firmware. My wii has been acting weird lately, I haven't played it in a while, but I decided it was time to get some wii fit in. I have the retail disc and it ran just fine, but today after a regular session of bouncing soccer balls, I quit to the main menu only to be greeted with "System files are corrupt". So I decided to reboot it, same message pops up after health and saftey. I thought I was a real smart guy since I installed preloader. I figured I would just update the firmware and it would overwrite the problem, so I got the softmii 3 pack and used wanikoko's updater. Boy I sure am smart! It seems to have updated fine...but now preloader isn't there....but the error screen is! Did I just brick?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Updating firmware kills preloader. Do you have bootmii installed as boot2?

  3. 1 User Says Thank You junkmail For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member shorty1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by junkmailturds View Post
    Updating firmware kills preloader. Do you have bootmii installed as boot2?
    I'm pretty sure I do

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Does your disc light flash twice when you turn on the wii? If so then you have boot2 and not all is lost. Also do you have a nad backup?

  6. 1 User Says Thank You junkmail For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    You had a brick before and you just made things worse by updating.

    What you describe is a banner brick and could easily have been fixed through Preloader by removing whichever wad you had installed. (probably the Wii fit channel didn't go in right)

    So unless you have bootmii/boot2 you are looking at savemiifrii gc controller trick, an autobooting modchip and a special modded iso to load up wad manager.

    Possibly a costly mistake.

    Check your DVD slot for multiple flashes on start up. You will need 2 short flashes less than 1 second apart. This is the bootmii test.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  9. #6
    New Member shorty1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    one flash...I could have swore preloader said that bootmii was mounted on 2. I'm going to drink myself into a coma tonight...

  10. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Shorty- don't do that. Sounds like you're gonna need that money for a gc controller and modchip. Sorry, man.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You junkmail For This Useful Post


  12. #8
    New Member shorty1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by junkmailturds View Post
    Shorty- don't do that. Sounds like you're gonna need that money for a gc controller and modchip. Sorry, man.
    I got tons of old cube controllers around, but any recommendations for a modchip? I can handle a soldering iron. I realize now which wad is at fault too, it was a bad backup channel I had installed a few months ago that I never even really used. Boy I wish I had a time machine.
    Edit: Please excuse my rudeness, I completely forgot to say thank you to the both of you, despite my crappy situation.
    Last edited by shorty1k; 11-24-2009 at 02:38 PM.

  13. #9
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    It has to be an autobooting modchip, they don't come preconfigured like this normally but you need to make sure it has this, or at the very least access to another Wii so you can install it in there and program it to autoboot.

    Did come across a Drivekey with autoboot function preset in my travels that fits all Wiis.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  14. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •