Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Starting Over ... maybe?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Starting Over ... maybe?

    Hi folks ... I have previously got my wii up and hacked but I'm not happy that it is functioning as it should.

    So I've been thinking of starting again and I'm just wondering what my best options are.

    Should I follow "How to remove softmods and make your Wii a virgin" and then after that, depending on my system menu level either follow

    1. New 3.1-4.1 Softmod for ANY Wii or
    2. Full hacking guide for 4.2 system menus!!!!

    from the Recommended FAQ section?

    Does this make sense or am I missing something obvious?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by shausha View Post
    Hi folks ... I have previously got my wii up and hacked but I'm not happy that it is functioning as it should.

    So I've been thinking of starting again and I'm just wondering what my best options are.

    Should I follow "How to remove softmods and make your Wii a virgin" and then after that, depending on my system menu level either follow

    1. New 3.1-4.1 Softmod for ANY Wii or
    2. Full hacking guide for 4.2 system menus!!!!

    from the Recommended FAQ section?

    Does this make sense or am I missing something obvious?
    what is wrong with the function? the symptoms could be addressed first before trying to go to any extreme measures. i'm just saying

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 129 Times in 24 Posts
    yeah starting over is good if you have 2

    i would choose option 1 from what i know there is no gains between firmware 4.1 and 4.2

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    @oddgriffin - some of the games play sometimes but not always. Also some of the HBC stuff added just doesn't appear to function as I'm expecting it. It may just be me, but it's the feeling I'm getting.

    I hear what you say about extreme measures, but I don't consider it that extreme and my SD card has so much crap on it that starting over may in fact be easier.

    @zofia - thanks. Pretty sure I don't have 4.2 but nice to see the FAQ for it anyway which makes me feel entirely more comfortable.

    Thanks both.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by shausha View Post
    @oddgriffin - some of the games play sometimes but not always. Also some of the HBC stuff added just doesn't appear to function as I'm expecting it. It may just be me, but it's the feeling I'm getting.

    I hear what you say about extreme measures, but I don't consider it that extreme and my SD card has so much crap on it that starting over may in fact be easier.

    @zofia - thanks. Pretty sure I don't have 4.2 but nice to see the FAQ for it anyway which makes me feel entirely more comfortable.

    Thanks both.
    well some hombrew apps don't work well and some do. as far as games go there are better loaders for them than just backup launcher,

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by oddgriffin View Post
    well some hombrew apps don't work well and some do. as far as games go there are better loaders for them than just backup launcher,
    Duly noted - I'll have a hunt round and see what else is available then.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Do not start over. Make sure you have cios38rev14 and all your ios's are up to date. Silly to destroy your softmod in order to softmod. Fix what you have. Give more details on how you are launching and which games have problems

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by junkmailturds View Post
    Do not start over. Make sure you have cios38rev14 and all your ios's are up to date. Silly to destroy your softmod in order to softmod. Fix what you have. Give more details on how you are launching and which games have problems
    Opps - too late.

    All told it only took an hour to set it back to a clean system (albeit with a Wasabi DX in) and then to restore the softmods, etc ... following the guides I listed above.

    That said it has made no difference so I am now reasonably happy that it is either the game(s), how it is burnt or possibly the media burnt to.

    In reverse order I've used good quality but not Verbatim or other mentioned media - however these have worked fine for most games I've tested (e.g Mario Tennis or Hannah Montanna or CID the Dummy, etc) but I still accept this proves nothing.

    ImgBurn at x2.4 speed is what I use to burn with and my burner is a Pioneer (I read that this can make the difference).

    Games I've had problems with are any of the Lego games (Batman, Indy 1) and G-Force. For each of these whether I direct load and trust my DX (2.02Beta) or go via one of a number of loaders I get (after a bit of drive seek) "There was an error - eject and power cycle" type of message.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Maybe it's to do with the ISO I burnt from as I've just grabbed Lego Indy2 to see what happens and burnt that the same way to the same media and it works just fine.

    Hmmm.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by shausha View Post
    Maybe it's to do with the ISO I burnt from as I've just grabbed Lego Indy2 to see what happens and burnt that the same way to the same media and it works just fine.

    Hmmm.
    could have saved the extra steps lol but it's a learning experience huh?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •