Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Invalid Format message on TV when launching a VC game

  1. #1
    New Member HookeyStreet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Invalid Format message on TV when launching a VC game

    Ive installed Super Mario World PAL but when I launch the channel I get a black screen with 'Invaldi Format' on it. This isnt a message from the Wii but a message from my actual TV (42" 1080p LG LCD via Component Cable)

    Does anyone know a way round this? Surely its not because I dont have a Classic Controller at the moment?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Maybe the 'You need a classic controller' message is in a format your TV can't display. Try going into the TV with a different input and see if it changes.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member HookeyStreet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
    Maybe the 'You need a classic controller' message is in a format your TV can't display. Try going into the TV with a different input and see if it changes.
    I did try both of the other settings but I get the same message Should I try launching the game with my Composite cable in? But what your saying makes sense. I guess I need to pick up a classic controller Are the Black Pro versions better than the standard white ones?

  5. #4
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'd buy a gamecube controller. It'll do all the classic does and will allow you to play gamecube games too.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i have the same message on my LG 1080i tv when i put mario sunshine. i have the d2ckey installed and i only hear the sound. i try using neogamma to play it and the same thing happens only sound no picture and the message on my tv no imagine. i try changing all the setting on my tv and my wii and i could fix it... help please

  7. #6
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    I had the same thing you have to change the component cable to composite.
    I'm now into retro games console hacking and development.
    Currently working on Nintendo 64 if you want to help PM me.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i did change the cable but its all blurry and no color... how did you fix that?

  9. #8
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by edgsoccer View Post
    i did change the cable but its all blurry and no color... how did you fix that?
    sounds like some thing is either wrong with the TV connection or you need to clean the terminals up a bit twist the cable about in the TV gently, make sure that the connections are actually in the composit in as apposed to the component in, if you put the composit cable into component you will get a black and white screen.
    I'm now into retro games console hacking and development.
    Currently working on Nintendo 64 if you want to help PM me.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    my wii works just fine with the original cable and the hd cable... with original games and from my usb. but when i try to play that gamecube game mario sunshine the screen goes all blurry and no colors appear. yeasterday that happen to me with the new mario bros. do you think its neogamma??? this game does not work on my wii channel. thanks

  11. #10
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Ok then you need to try either VIDpatch turn in off or on depending what it is set to or it may be set to NTSC 60Hrz so try playing about with those settings in neo gamma failing that try a different loader and see if you have the same problem.
    I'm now into retro games console hacking and development.
    Currently working on Nintendo 64 if you want to help PM me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •