Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: WAD load problem - black screen

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WAD load problem - black screen

    Hello!

    I have a pal wii fw 3.3E with cIOS rev 15

    When i install virtual console wads with wad manager all goes well. When i click a channel i get the pre-title screen. I press start. Then i just get a black screen and have to restart my wii.
    These are all Ntsc wads but i tried setting their region to "free" with freethawads. I also tried setting them to PAL.
    When i start wad manager i get to choose between using cIOS 249 and 250. Not sure why but i tried installing with both these settings.

    I read some threads with the same problem and some suggest this has to do with the fw, that IŽd have to update to something higher than 3.3E

    Some suggest that it might be the modchip (i have wiikey installed) that is blocking it.

    I'd like to get some pro advice since i dont like thought of having to update my fw.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member messie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,118
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 7,151 Times in 1,065 Posts
    install ioses 38-53-55 (never uninstall)

  3. 1 User Says Thank You messie For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok i will try that!

    out of curiosity:

    why can i have several ioses? what are they for? will i have to reinstall the cios afterwards? i'm confused bhy all this ios and cios stuff.

    also when i load Wad manager i get to choose which ios/cios to use. which one should i choose and why?

    thanks!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,579 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by swell View Post
    ok i will try that!

    out of curiosity:

    why can i have several ioses? what are they for? will i have to reinstall the cios afterwards? i'm confused bhy all this ios and cios stuff.

    also when i load Wad manager i get to choose which ios/cios to use. which one should i choose and why?

    thanks!
    have a read at this if you want to conceptualize these terms
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...explained.html

  6. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    that's exactly what i need! interesting read!


    One thing that it didnt explain though was:
    Will i have to uninstall my cios before installing ios 38, 53 and 55 or if i can just install them on top?
    Does anyone know?

  8. #6
    Senior Member messie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,118
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 7,151 Times in 1,065 Posts
    no, cios and ioses are completely different just install them (never uninstall ioses)

  9. 1 User Says Thank You messie For This Useful Post


  10. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    great and quick response. i learn a lot in 30 minutes

  11. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK...

    even though i learned all that...

    I installed the ioses 38, 53 and 55. The problem is still there though!

    In anytitledeleter it now says i have a lot of ioses..... ending on 28, 33, 35, 37, 36, 249, 250, 38, 53 and 55 (in that order).

    My question about wether it matters what ios i choose in the beginning of wad manager remains unanswered so i don't know if that has to do with anything...

    any more ideas?

  12. #9
    Senior Member messie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,118
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 7,151 Times in 1,065 Posts
    at the beginning you should always use ios249, not that it will do anything if you do otherwise, it just wont work....not to bother you, it changes nothing if it works... now rty to use dop ios to install latest ioses 38-53-55 (needs wifi).. and make sure you apply the trucha bug to them, by pressing at installation... also they may be bad wads..
    We Hack Wii / Wiiware1
    try here for pal games

  13. 1 User Says Thank You messie For This Useful Post


  14. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    once again thanks!

    and just to be on the safe i don't delete the old versions of 38 53 and 55 before doing this, right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •