Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New And Confused

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New And Confused

    Hi All,

    I finally took the plunge and decided to add homebrew onto my Wii and followed DogEggs Exxcellent Guide Very Carefully, The wii was a 3.1 and i completed all steps finally updating to 4.1.

    My problem is now when i try to load the game through NeoGamma The screen goes blank, The drive makes a clicking Noise and it returns to the Wii Channel Homepage.

    Being Mindful i am very t=new to this, Is there something glaringly obvious i have missed/Done Wrong.?

    Kind Regards

    Ner Alreet 2007

  2. #2
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Firstly have you installed bootmii and made a backup of your nand.
    Have you installed preloader.
    If so you are at least protected to a degree,
    What game is it, did you use DVD-R at less than x4.

    As this is your first post here is some info.

    Hi and welcome to WiiHacks

    If you need advice or help for anything Wii related you have joined the right site, whether its hard or soft modded.

    Donít be shy, ask if you are stuck, just donít expect other people to do all the work for you.

    Before you start anything, make sure you read the rules go over the tutorials, and most importantly, search before asking questions.

    Make sure you post in the correct areas of the forums.

    If you are starting from scratch, new 3.1-4.1 written by Dogeggs

    If you already have Homebrew, upgrade to 4.1 written by Dogeggs

    Donít update to 4.2, but if you are already on 4.2, complete 4.2 guide written by Messie

    I hope you have a great time here at WiiHacks, and increase your knowledge of all things Wii.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WiiJohn View Post
    Firstly have you installed bootmii and made a backup of your nand.
    Have you installed preloader.
    If so you are at least protected to a degree,
    What game is it, did you use DVD-R at less than x4.

    As this is your first post here is some info.

    Hi and welcome to WiiHacks

    If you need advice or help for anything Wii related you have joined the right site, whether its hard or soft modded.

    Donít be shy, ask if you are stuck, just donít expect other people to do all the work for you.

    Before you start anything, make sure you read the rules go over the tutorials, and most importantly, search before asking questions.

    Make sure you post in the correct areas of the forums.

    If you are starting from scratch, new 3.1-4.1 written by Dogeggs

    If you already have Homebrew, upgrade to 4.1 written by Dogeggs

    Donít update to 4.2, but if you are already on 4.2, complete 4.2 guide written by Messie

    I hope you have a great time here at WiiHacks, and increase your knowledge of all things Wii.

    Bootmii Installed
    Nand Backed Up
    Preloader Installed
    Games Tried So Far (Sports Resort, Wii Sport, Mario Galaxy)
    Alll Burnt Correctly on Correct Media
    They All work On Wii Upstairs.

    Originals Still Boot

    The game seems like it tries to boot, but then the drive 'Clicks' and the wii menu re-appears ?

  4. #4
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ner Alreet 2007 View Post
    Bootmii Installed
    Nand Backed Up
    Preloader Installed
    Games Tried So Far (Sports Resort, Wii Sport, Mario Galaxy)
    Alll Burnt Correctly on Correct Media
    They All work On Wii Upstairs.

    Originals Still Boot

    The game seems like it tries to boot, but then the drive 'Clicks' and the wii menu re-appears ?
    Sounds like its a new Wii if it is you may have the same issue I have, the fix would be to use a USB loader if its a D3-2 drive then no backups work on them unless you use a usb loader.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny87 View Post
    Sounds like its a new Wii if it is you may have the same issue I have, the fix would be to use a USB loader if its a D3-2 drive then no backups work on them unless you use a usb loader.
    I've had it for about 14 month ,

    ItS LEH11605568

  6. #6
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ner Alreet 2007 View Post
    I've had it for about 14 month ,

    ItS LEH11605568
    hmm throws that out of the window lol! it sounds like what my limited edition Wii does it start the game but then clicks and restarts the system. Try a USB loader program. I take it all the IOS's installed ok?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny87 View Post
    hmm throws that out of the window lol! it sounds like what my limited edition Wii does it start the game but then clicks and restarts the system. Try a USB loader program. I take it all the IOS's installed ok?
    I'm assuming so, I took a lot of time to follow the instructions to make sure i got it right, Thats why it has me stumped and has me thinking something hasn't installed correctly/i've done something wrong

  8. #8
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    So no backup games work, only originals.
    On neogamma do you have 002 fix set, and do you have cIOS38rev14.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WiiJohn View Post
    So no backup games work, only originals.
    On neogamma do you have 002 fix set, and do you have cIOS38rev14.
    Yes On Both Counts

    I set the 002 fix in Preloader ? Should i be doing that somewhere else ?

    Yes i have cIOS38rev14

  10. #10
    New Member Sunny87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    I'm going to say media type I might be very wrong but try burning on better media at a slower speed.
    I'm now into retro games console hacking and development.
    Currently working on Nintendo 64 if you want to help PM me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •