Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Close to suicide ! (4.2 sob story...)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Close to suicide ! (4.2 sob story...)

    Was linked here from another forum, after asking for advice for an "updated" Wii.

    A week ago my lad had a working Wii, D2PRO and softmod, home brew channel and USB loader etc.

    Then he get a copy of a new game, and decides to let the ****** update the wii....despite being told NOT to (14 year olds huh ? they always "know better")

    Anyway, 4.2E is on there, and ONLY orgiinals work.

    Followed "Get a cIOS on 4.2 Wii "
    [URL="http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-faqs-guides-tutorials-only/24839-get-cios-4-2-wii.html[/URL]

    First time it produced loads of errors, 2nd time it all seemed to work... even did the optional part 5.. but it still behaves the same - ie USB loader (GX?) says it cant find a device, and drive wont read a backup


    Now, all this is greek to me... so please dont flame me too much ! lol

    Lads in tears, and Im stressed as "dad will fix it"

    Im ok with electronics, and fitting the chip went fine (over a year ago) but this IOS stuff is baffling....

    Any help MOST welcome !

    PS How come the chip wont force it to read a disk ? Is that defunkt now because of softmod ?


    HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLL LLP

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,191
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,585 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Your chip will only read in region game backups until a new firmware fixes the issue. If your softmod is not working, follow the 4.2 guide below. If you have any questions just post them.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Listen to mauifrog, he's the man/girl

    Also if you would like to read up on all this IOS/cIOS stuff then read this: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...explained.html

  4. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,162
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 1,326 Times in 418 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just out of curiosity which forum linked you here?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    A2)Run to your wii, place the card in the SD slot and navigate to the SD card icon, bottom left, writes SD and has the same shape, can't really miss it. Once you did this, a warning screen about scams should appear, press ok, screen will go black. A disclaimer shall appear, press one to continue.

    Does this "autoboot" then ? Or will I need to run something off the card ?

    A3)Now three lines should appear: Homebrew channel, which can be isntalled, DVDx, also can be installed, Bootmii, which possibly will give you an error. Install all three of them and then exit.

    HBC is already installed, and working... so shall I skip this ? and what do you mean by "install" ?

    Warning: Bootmii at most cases will give you an error, so it cannot be installed as a boot2. For most of you will be isntalled as an ios. That is fine.

    "installed as an ios" ? "boot2" huh ?

    A4)After that you are ready, you have isntalled all of the above! now an app can be palced in the apps folder in your SD card and be run by HBC! This has a load of functions: Media players, Emulators, Useful apps and Homebrew games! browse tham all here, but take care with the ones you dont really understand,as they might ruin your wii! most of them are really safe tho.

    Those who were able to install bootmi as boot2 SHOULD BACKUP THEIR NAND RIGHT AWAY!!! If bootmii was isntalled as ios, then you dont need this step, although you can make one just in case. Mind that you will need a Gamecube controller tho if bootmii was an ios

    When running the "Get a cIOS on 4.2 Wii " tutorial, I could run BOOTMII from HBC... but it reads as if it should run outside HBC - does this matter ?
    And, finally "If bootmii was isntalled as ios"


    All in all a major headache ! On every boot - the wii just looks like it did before... but should the SD card be working as a "boot disk" (in pc parlance) and display its own menu etc ?
    CONFUSED but learning... MANY thanks for the help guys

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,191
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,585 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by 6million View Post
    A2)R

    Does this "autoboot" then ? Or will I need to run something off the card ?

    If done correctly you will click ok the load boot.dol/elf


    HBC is already installed, and working... so shall I skip this ? and what do you mean by "install" ?

    If HBC is working you can skip this, if you also installed dvdx and bootmii, if you don't know just do it again.

    "installed as an ios" ? "boot2" huh ?

    If you can install bootmii as boot2 you are truly blessed by the gods, do that and backup your nand. If you can not install as boot2, install as ios and backup nand and pray for future hacking developments.

    When running the "Get a cIOS on 4.2 Wii " tutorial, I could run BOOTMII from HBC... but it reads as if it should run outside HBC - does this matter ?
    And, finally "If bootmii was isntalled as ios"


    Bootmii installed as ios will only run from hbc and preloader 0.3, this is normal. Boot2 is better but probably not an option, so move on.

    All in all a major headache ! On every boot - the wii just looks like it did before... but should the SD card be working as a "boot disk" (in pc parlance) and display its own menu etc ?
    CONFUSED but learning... MANY thanks for the help guys
    It sounds like you should have made your way though the hackmii installer, installing HBC, bootmii as ios in your case, and dvdx. Now move on to the next step, you are on your way.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Can you please explain :
    installing HBC, bootmii as ios in your case
    ???

    We have home brew channel AND bootmii (runs via HBC) is this NOT whats needed ?

    Im guessing that when bootmii is used, the wii should boot into somthing other than the standard "channels" ? If so... this maybe our problem (it always boots as normal...)

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,191
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,585 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Everything sounds fine. Bootmii can be installed on older wii's as boot2, newer wii's must install as ios. You can read about it if you like, but move on in the guide, sounds like everything has gone as it should.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    sounds like everything has gone as it should
    Followed it through again, and it DOES look like its doing as it should, apart from it still wont load a backup Disks are "not readable" as well as the USB drive "not found"


    Where do we go from here ? Is there a way to "format" it back to factory and start again ? Or am I panicking needlessly ?

    To reiterate, it WAS fine until he updated to 4.2E ..... so can this be rescued ?

    Thanks for the help so far...

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,579 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by 6million View Post
    Followed it through again, and it DOES look like its doing as it should, apart from it still wont load a backup Disks are "not readable" as well as the USB drive "not found"


    Where do we go from here ? Is there a way to "format" it back to factory and start again ? Or am I panicking needlessly ?

    To reiterate, it WAS fine until he updated to 4.2E ..... so can this be rescued ?

    Thanks for the help so far...
    what loader are you trying to use. neogamma works well and usually indicates what cios rev you have installed.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •