Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: softmod complete but a question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    softmod complete but a question

    hello again,

    thanks to s0ur in a recent post i think i have completed my softmod. i only wish i started with the guide from this forum instead of other places i googled. here's my question: after the softmod i can no longer play my original game (mario) in the regular disk channel because the disk is not recognized. my question is should i be able to? it will play in the backup launcher and burned games will play in the backup launcher. but i'm just thinking i should still be able to play original games in the disk channel. it was fine before softmod.

    as a note i changed my system from 3.4j to 3.2u during my softmod. i have tried to change my region back to japan (my mario game is japanese) using anyregion changer but it still doesn't play. i think maybe it's a region issue but even before i changed my system to 3.2u it wouldn't play although the disk was recognized. it would just get stuck. this was after partial softmod. anyways any help how to get the disk channel working again for original disks is great.

    thanks,

    jo

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    I think you are right about the region issue. You should be able to play original games, but you have switched from j to u. Test a u game and it should work. Minor issue since most of your games will be backups. You might as well load them all the same way. Make a backup of that game and put the original in a safe place- I mean that is why we do all this.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You mauifrog For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Senior Member WiiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,953
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 1,205 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Glad s0ur helped you.
    If you want to run game DVD's from the disc channel, you will need cIOSCORP. Some people say this software is messy, a it modifies some IOS's.
    Others say its good to have. Best to read about it, before installing it.
    I beleive it has an uninstaller, but how good that is I don't know.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You WiiJohn For This Useful Post


  6. #4
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,572 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    read a lot about it, it make many many changes to the wii.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You mauifrog For This Useful Post


  8. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,162
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 1,326 Times in 418 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by WiiJohn View Post
    Glad s0ur helped you.
    If you want to run game DVD's from the disc channel, you will need cIOSCORP. Some people say this software is messy, a it modifies some IOS's.
    Others say its good to have. Best to read about it, before installing it.
    I beleive it has an uninstaller, but how good that is I don't know.

    May I have your attention.


  9. 1 User Says Thank You Favs For This Useful Post


  10. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thank you all for the replies. yes it is a minor issue so i think i would rather just let it be the way it is than to risk messing something up to get it back. it took me a few attempts to do my softmod and after my first attempt before changing my system menu it would no longer play my original game in disk channel. it would load and then just get stuck. after my second softmod attempt where i changed from 3.4j to 3.2u it will now display the unable to read disk error like in the picture above. i tried changing the region back to japan with anyregion but same error. now my final softmod attempt using this forum has everything working except still unable to read original disk in disk channel. i tried again changing the region with anyregion but still no go. i won't try to change the system menu back to japanese since i'm not japanese and i can't read it. :-)

    thanks again and now off to try to burn my own disk and see if i can get it to work. the first one i tried gave me a 1053 error but a burned disk from someone else as a test works fine.

    jo

  11. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    did you get past the error 1053?
    For some reason, I am getting the error...

  12. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    1053 error

    iam geting the 1053 error to , no clue what to do .

    I have the neogamma screen up and my ios is ios249 rev 14.I click on launch game ,it trys then kicks out the error code.Iam useing verbatim dvd-r and imgburn . the only thing close to a error i got when setin up my softmod was on step 5,d i had the preloader installed and when i click homebrew it didnt load up and at the bootom the screen it shows "error autbooting HBC , maybe title not installed. Even now after all the set up has been done if i try to click HBC on the preloader screen it doesnt work and gives the same error.

    Do i need to change any of the setings in neogamma before it work ? thxs for the help the 3.1-4.1 guide was get , it seemed ez lol.

  13. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    blackburn, lancs, uk
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi chaps did you get past the problem with the 1053 error as i am getting the same ?????

  14. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no luck here dude!
    if you find the solution, please post it!
    been banging my head a looong time!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •