Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Needing just a bit of help with gc backup copies

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Needing just a bit of help with gc backup copies

    I just did the Full hacking guide for 4.2 system menus!!!!

    and i have to say its great! However I'm not really sure on what all I did.

    However I am able to play my wii backup copies and have the homebrew channel up.

    I feel over my head as if i'm sinking in all this wii info.

    I have a wii, and its now updated to 4.2u, and I would like to play my gc backup copies

    just what program do I need to use?

    thank you for helping, i'm still researching

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    You need to install mIOS and Gamecube Backup Launcher 0.2 in order to get gamecube backups to work.

    Download those two items from here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FNTKAU0K

  3. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    thank you, that did the trick

    i have a few other questions if anyone has time

    just what is a wad? i know it as a doom map file

    also how can i make the gc loader come on to the channel screen, i have a feeling it has something to do with wad manager.


    I don't plan on bricking my wii, i did a back up of my nand as i got bootmii as an ios, do i need to install bootmii as a boot2 just incase,, better safe than sorry.


    My next goal is to find a snes emu and a nes emu, yesterday i bought a new wii and modding it for my 7 year old cousinand going to give it to him for christmas. I want him to play all the nes/snes games i did growing up

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,162
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 1,326 Times in 418 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    That channel is just a forwarder for the program so you dont need to go into the HBC to load.

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    If you can install BootMii as boot2 then YES most definately, thats the ideal way to have BootMii installed. Some Wiis won't allow the install of BootMii to boot2 though, it will only be installed as an IOS and only accessable through the Homebrew Channel.

    Think of a wad as an installer [think .exe in windows but for Wii]. In order to get it on the main menu is just like what Favs said, you just have to search for a foreworder for Gamecube Backup Launcher and install it to your Wii with wad manager.

    If your interested in Emulators, you could get this nifty application called HomeBrew Browser: Homebrew Browser - WiiBrew

    It will allow you to browse a bunch of nice apps for the wii and will install them to your SD card in the proper way.

    The only suggestion i have though is if you want to play N64 games, the virtual console versions are what you want, as the N64 emulator is very buggy.
    Last edited by s0ur; 11-12-2009 at 09:43 PM.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You s0ur For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Q: Should I install BootMii as boot2 or IOS
    A: BootMii as boot2 is preferred. Having BootMii as boot2 will make your Wii virtually unbrickable. It is also the best way to make and restore a backup of your NAND. Newer Wii's will not allow to install BootMii as boot2 because of a patched boot1 (BootMii is smart enough to tell you this). If that is the case do install it as an IOS. Although not recommended, during a brick if you can get in to the Homebrew Channel (HBC) and have a Gamecube controller you can use the BootMii IOS to restore your NAND.

    answered that question

  9. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    Beat me to the punch with your own question, i like that. lol

  10. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    i just installed bootmii as a boot2, and the homebrew browser, i got the snes and nes emu's,, thanks so much!


    i guess i have one more question, i have a NA wii, and used a pal resident evil archive disk, i'm not able to change it from 50mhz to 60mhz, if i put it as ntcs 420i the screen goes green , if i leave it in as pal, it looks like crap and its in 4:3,, the game might had no ws support though

    any advice for pal games?

  11. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    0100111001001010
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 813 Times in 642 Posts
    I have RE archives [re1] PAL version, alls i did was force NTSC 480i and it looks just fine, I am not running it on a widescreen TV though.

  12. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    when i try and force it, my screen goes green

    i am using neogamma the latest verison

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •