Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Multiple Backup Games Freezing on Startup

  1. #1
    Junior Member inkwriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multiple Backup Games Freezing on Startup

    So I've had my wii soft modded for a while now and it's never been much of a hassle til now since I just played the games that worked perfectly and tossed the other ones aside for later when I'd have enough time to figure out how to make them work. Well I wasn't able to make them work when that time came.

    Alot of the wii games I have burnt freeze between 30-60 seconds gameplay after the game has loaded without problem through Neogamma. Some of these games include: Marvel Ultimate Alliance 1 & 2, Trauma Center New blood & Second Opinion, Spectrobes, Vallhala Knights, Need for Speed Carbon, Mario Kart, Final Fantasy Chocobo Dungeon.... All of these games Load perfectly for 30 to 60 seconds, until they freeze my wii which I have to reboot. I have no idea why this is doing it, I've tried updating all my IOS, and completely remodding my wii. No change at all: the games that used to freeze still freeze, and the ones that didn't still don't.

    Every ISO I burned is NTSC and through rebooting my wii countless times, I've managed to make 1 or 2 of these games work without freezing during a single playthrough (I was messing with region configurations in neogamma between my wii reboots, though I have no idea if that had anything to do with it and when I tried the same settings that had made it work before it didn't work anymore so.... yeah...). Also all of my games were burned through imgburn with Verbatims at 2.4x so that's not an issue either...

    I've checked through every "freezing" post I could find, and I couldn't find any with this same problem.

    I'm completely open to suggestions if anyone has any clue as to why my games freeze.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,184
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    What cios are you using?
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. #3
    Junior Member inkwriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    cIOS38 r14, right now the way my wii is softmodded is with the files from Dogeggs's guide

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,184
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    It sounds like you have done everything right. Not sure, could be your drive or your loader. Try another loader, or try loading from usb.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  5. #5
    Junior Member inkwriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Currently I'm using NeoGammaR7, which works for most of my backup DVD games, any suggestions on what other loaders I could try before I go buy myself a USB drive to test if that works?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,184
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,580 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Sorry, I don't us disks. There is an r8 beta for neogamma, but I don't think it will help.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    Just because you use IMGburn and Verbatim does not mean you are getting a good burn. Do you verify the burn every time you burn a disc? If you do not verify then you have no way of knowing if the burn was good. I would also recommend burning at 4x.

  8. #8
    Junior Member inkwriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I do verify each and every one of them, I'm positive the burns are successful. I repeatedly made copies of the same games on variating speeds as well and actually I've never had a failed burn. I just simply had to throw out all the copies too many I had to test this out. I figure slower speeds would lessen the chances of failed burns as well, this is a little off-topic but wouldn't making the burn speed faster make the risk of a burn failure more probable?
    In any case... that's not why my games aren't working so I'm still looking into this, I'll keep trying random ideas I come up with til I get myself some results... Help always appreciated

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    Do any of your original retail discs have freezing issues? If your retail discs do not freeze then you can eliminate a hardware issue. All of the apps your using are proven to work, Neogamma, cIOS38 rev14, all good stuff. You redid your mods and hacks which leaves the discs. You may want to take a look at your burned discs, maybe try burning with a different burner or a different computer. If you have some games that work then it's not the loader or the cIOS, the problem is the discs, or you have a bad ISO that you using to burn with.

    Also, make sure you don't have a gamecube memory card plugged in when trying to play backup Wii games.
    Last edited by Stomp_442; 11-09-2009 at 07:55 PM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey guys, just glad to see i'm not the only one with only those certain games freezing. I have tried usb, different copies altogether, different discs, different hard drives, and still no luck. Anyone with any ideas?

    EDIT: Installed Hermes cios222 and it works beautifully!!

    EDIT2: Started happening again!?
    Last edited by OmeGa98049; 12-13-2009 at 06:50 PM. Reason: Not Fixed!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •