Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Modified Wii cannot play original games?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Modified Wii cannot play original games?

    I've bought a modified already Wii and have been playing pirated games all the while. Recently I bought GH5 but it won't play the original game. Is it true that all modified Wiis are unable to play original games? What can I do? I've already opened it, can't really sell it right?

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,661
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    They can play originals. It may be a missing IOS, install IOS56 with DOP-IOS or get the wad and install it via WAD Manager.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowSonic2 View Post
    They can play originals. It may be a missing IOS, install IOS56 with DOP-IOS or get the wad and install it via WAD Manager.
    Sorry, I'm pretty noob at such stuff haha! Could you explain further cause I don't know what's an IOS and how to install things into it.

  4. #4
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,661
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    An IOS is basically what wii apps, channels, games etc run of off. Different things use different IOS. E.g Guitar Hero 5 uses IOS56. Wad Manager is a homebrew tool and if you modded your wii you should have it in homebrew channel. It installs .wad files (basically wii setup files), you need to find a wad for IOS56, put it in the wad folder on the root of your sd card and install it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowSonic2 View Post
    An IOS is basically what wii apps, channels, games etc run of off. Different things use different IOS. E.g Guitar Hero 5 uses IOS56. Wad Manager is a homebrew tool and if you modded your wii you should have it in homebrew channel. It installs .wad files (basically wii setup files), you need to find a wad for IOS56, put it in the wad folder on the root of your sd card and install it.
    Whats a homebrew channel?

    So basically I have to download this IOS56 into an SD card and then install it on my Wii? How do I install it and what should be the name of the wad folder because I have never used an SD card for my Wii.

  6. #6
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,661
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    It seems you don't have homebrew, take a look around the tutorials:
    ►RECOMMENDED FAQ's, GUIDES & TUTORIALS ONLY ◄

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowSonic2 View Post
    It seems you don't have homebrew, take a look around the tutorials:
    ►RECOMMENDED FAQ's, GUIDES & TUTORIALS ONLY ◄
    What exactly should I be looking for?

  8. #8
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,661
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    It Depends, what firmware do you have?

    I believe you would have something between 3.1 - 4.1 so try this:
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowSonic2 View Post
    It Depends, what firmware do you have?

    I believe you would have something between 3.1 - 4.1 so try this:
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html
    I'm not sure haha, I got my Wii from China and it's in Jap.

  10. #10
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,661
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    In Wii Options and Settings, it should say your firmware.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •