Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hi folks! newbie needs help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hi folks! newbie needs help

    Hey,

    So i just got my wii flashed/chipped to wiikey 2.0 and received it back today. I tried read up about it a bit and saw that you shouldn't update the wii etc so i used something called UR update remover to remove the update from my downloaded .iso's

    I burnt with Imgburn 2.4 or something have worked gr8 for 360 titles and i used dvd+r discs, everything went fine. I put the disc into the wii and it shows the game in the wii menu, however when starting it the screen just goes black.

    Game was PAL and console is PAL so that's not the issue.

    (original games works fine)

    Last but not least any help is greatly appreciated i hope you can stand another noob around here

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Black screens could mean that you are missing some IOS that the game requires to run.

    You can confirm which IOS your game needs using our list http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...s-use-run.html

    You can also confirm which IOS you have by using DOP-IOS, a homebrew application.

    Install IOS using Wad manager.

    Note: Games usually need 38, 53, 55 or 56 to run.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
    Black screens could mean that you are missing some IOS that the game requires to run.

    You can confirm which IOS your game needs using our list http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...s-use-run.html

    You can also confirm which IOS you have by using DOP-IOS, a homebrew application.

    Install IOS using Wad manager.

    Note: Games usually need 38, 53, 55 or 56 to run.

    Okey, so the only thing i am a little lost right now with is how i run the actual wad manager. I put the file that is the wad manager outside the /wad directory were i have the actual wad files that i wanna apply(ios things)?

    I see that there is some twilight hack to run it, sounds complicated i ain't even got that game nor an sd card so i was going with usb..

    Sorry for my lameness and thanks for your earlier reply.

  4. #4
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Put Wad Manager's boot.dol in a folder within the apps folder on your SD thus:-

    SD:\apps\WadManager\boot.dol

    Same goes for any other HB app...

    SD:\apps\MyFantasticApp\boot.dol
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
    Put Wad Manager's boot.dol in a folder within the apps folder on your SD thus:-

    SD:\apps\WadManager\boot.dol

    Same goes for any other HB app...

    SD:\apps\MyFantasticApp\boot.dol
    In other words i must have an SD card in order to launch this manager..?
    I do not have a computer that supports SD cards, i thought it was doable via usb.
    Last edited by heady89; 11-06-2009 at 03:50 PM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After some reading i guess what i am trying to say is , i have to have homebrew to launch the wad manager and to install homebrew i have to have a sd-card, and twilight princess for the hack?

    Please remind me why i even bothered getting the wiikey 2.0 lol

  7. #7
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Enable in region updates in your Wiikey configuration and update your Wii using the disc. Or softmod to do it the other way, up to you.

    The 'do not update' thing is really for softmodding not hardmods.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
    Enable in region updates in your Wiikey configuration and update your Wii using the disc. Or softmod to do it the other way, up to you.

    The 'do not update' thing is really for softmodding not hardmods.
    Hi yes i locked my region to Europe (PAL) with the disc.

    As for updating i keep reading, that you can update your Wii through games if they are the correct region without messing it up am i right?

    So for instance Deadspace asks for a update in the main menu to run it, can i safely apply this update. Currently the wii is running 3.4E as far as i know.

  9. #9
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    As long as you stick with in-region updates this'll have to be the way you update your Wii. You have no other way to bring in the new System Menu and more importantly game required IOS. A game disc will typically install more than just the IOS it requires so you should find that once you update with Deadspace pretty much every other game released around the same time will work too,.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  10. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
    As long as you stick with in-region updates this'll have to be the way you update your Wii. You have no other way to bring in the new System Menu and more importantly game required IOS. A game disc will typically install more than just the IOS it requires so you should find that once you update with Deadspace pretty much every other game released around the same time will work too,.
    Thanks very much i guess i was just being careful and thats better than to rush things, i just updated normally and locked region to europe(PAL). Now the games work great.

    Can't believe i spent some hours reading about homebrew and how the whole scene works just to figure out i needed this, oh well knowledge is always good

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •