Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Kind of a multitude of errors while trying to put in cios

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Kind of a multitude of errors while trying to put in cios

    Thank you for your time for reading this. Here is some relevant information:

    My wii is 3.4, it connects to the internet fine, and wiiconnect24 is shut off.

    The initial installation of homebrew channel was flawless, including installing divx and the option to boot from slot 2. However, the next steps started to have some problems, following the tutorials, I DID NOT see the wad manger program, nor any other app for that matter. Eventually, I found a link where someone had a pre-packed sd card, and I loaded that in, but the three steps listed started with a vague 'uninstall' not stating what it was.

    Moving onto the next step, I ran the isodowngrader, but this simple seemed to reboot the wii (no black screen, nothing, just an instant reboot) Then I proceeded to run ciosinstaller. This is where some problems happened (^^If there were no problems getting here) The installer prompted for a choice of what value to install (36 was default, it also had a number like 256)

    Long story short, depending on what number I chose, or whether it was wad/network installation I would get a variety of the errors, ranging from -1 to 2011, I know these are network issues suposedly, yet why would I pick 36 and it would connect with the network, download a whole bunch, only to stop and give a 2011 error, and when I chose 256 it just never connects?

    Hoping I could circumvent the network, it appeared I could just put the .wads in the root sd card, yet with the wadmanager, I could not install a single wad, as I received the same messages.

    I configured my router to totally shut of security, and still it did not work.

    Any idea on what happened, or what I should do? Is there files I can put on the sd card to do the wad installation instead of the network install?

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,186
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,582 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Sorry to hear your luck, I hope you learned something from it. It is very important to fully understand what you are doing because you can brick your wii for good. It sounds like your wii is alive, so everything should be good for you. Just read this guide completely a few times and follow it to the letter, don't use any other guides in the process- stick to one.

    New 3.1-4.1 Softmod for ANY Wii
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, is the first thing I can do is the anytitledelete and see whats on there?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,186
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,582 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    You should just start over
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Which would entail doing what? I mean homebrew is definitely on there, so just start with that step again?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,186
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,582 Times in 2,974 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    That will work
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I followed this guide: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...0-4-1-wii.html

    And it worked perfect! The key was to bypass the network install, instead doing it with the files on the SD card.

    Strangely, it left my homebrew channel upside down, an annoyance, but at least neogamma works.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •