Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Screwed up Cios, now Wadmanager won't run properly

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Screwed up Cios, now Wadmanager won't run properly

    This is really more of a detective story than anything. I no longer have possession of the system in question, but I'm dying to find out what could've solved this problem.

    So, just to give you some background, first I ran this tutorial:



    But at the first step after loading the homebrew channel (the one where you have to load the IOS) it froze up on me because it couldn't find an internet connection. Then I exited and setup an internet connection, but it said that the program had already been run. So I just went to the next step, which was Patch me.

    Then I went to the Wadmanager step, but couldn't install the first file because I suppose the IOS wasn't properly downgraded (but at this point the Wad Manager could at least SEE the wad files.)

    So I read somewhere that you could get the IOS from step one running again just by running IOS16-64-v257-prod.wad.

    That's where I made the monumentally stupid error of running IOS35.wad instead (since it was the OTHER file that Wad manager could read and unlike the other file wad manager could see... it worked just fine.)

    Well it worked! I was able to go back to step one and rerun the first file. But now Patch Mii would freeze when I tried to run it. And the DVDx program would freeze. And wad manager would load and then freeze at the part where it normally loaded the files off the SD card.

    So I did some digging and came across this:

    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...s-any-wii.html

    All the steps worked just fine. But at the end I still had the same problem: I couldn't install DVDx, wad manager still couldn't load from the memory card.

    Obviously I understand what I did wrong (the step with the internet in the very beginning) but what could I have done to fix it?

    THanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Nothing yet?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    any ideas? anybody?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I reckon you should try and use the cIOS38_rev14-Installer. (Google it) when you load it in the homebrew channel, keep clicking left on the d-pad until it says 'Do not reload ios' click A. at the disclaimer, click A. select network install, and let it work. (May take a few minutes) if you get an error while installing, try using ios 250. if that doesnt work, try any other IOSs.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You jarkinber For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    I reckon you should try and use the cIOS38_rev14-Installer. (Google it) when you load it in the homebrew channel, keep clicking left on the d-pad until it says 'Do not reload ios' click A. at the disclaimer, click A. select network install, and let it work. (May take a few minutes) if you get an error while installing, try using ios 250. if that doesnt work, try any other IOSs.
    Well thank you for at least responding!

    I was beginning to wonder if I was all alone here.

    I've got no way of knowing if this would have definitively fixed it (I don't have the system anymore.)

    I was just wondering what one should normally do in those types of situations.

    Do you think you could maybe explain what happened, why the Wad Manager would've suddenly freezed up like that, and how trying a different IOS would've fixed it?

    What's the significance of "do not reload IOS"?

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Well, to answer your first question, the same thing happened to me. What happened, is that the IOS 249, was terminated in the new 4.2 Nintendo update. (What I mean by 'Terminated' is 'Patched over' rendering it unusable) Nintendo realised that we were using IOS 249 to execute our beloved Homebrew. But what Nintendo didn't realise, is that there was an identicle twin IOS, IOS 250. So what we needed to do was replace the evil IOS 249 stub. using a couple of programs through the Homebrew Channel and IOS 250, i re-patched IOS 249 with the program as i told you before, the cIOS38_rev14-Installer. this acted as if i hadn't even updated, my wii was back to normal. I could run homebrew perfectly, play DVDs, play Backup wii games, and so on. Your last question, 'What's the significance of "do not reload IOS"?' means that the wii wont be using any particular IOS and therefore installing the IOS replacement as a raw IOS, adding it to the system. Thank you for asking these questions, as it is very important you did.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Well, to answer your first question, the same thing happened to me. What happened, is that the IOS 249, was terminated in the new 4.2 Nintendo update. (What I mean by 'Terminated' is 'Patched over' rendering it unusable) Nintendo realised that we were using IOS 249 to execute our beloved Homebrew. But what Nintendo didn't realise, is that there was an identicle twin IOS, IOS 250. So what we needed to do was replace the evil IOS 249 stub. using a couple of programs through the Homebrew Channel and IOS 250, i re-patched IOS 249 with the program as i told you before, the cIOS38_rev14-Installer. this acted as if i hadn't even updated, my wii was back to normal. I could run homebrew perfectly, play DVDs, play Backup wii games, and so on. Your last question, 'What's the significance of "do not reload IOS"?' means that the wii wont be using any particular IOS and therefore installing the IOS replacement as a raw IOS, adding it to the system. Thank you for asking these questions, as it is very important you did.
    And thanks for the very detailed response!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    You're welcome. Did you understand that?

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    You're welcome. Did you understand that?
    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. Had to go get another Wii! (This is actually one of the originals I think.)

    I am, in fact, trying to understand what you're saying, and I think I sort of grasp it:

    1. IOS 249 was patched over... hence why you couldn't run the Wad manager
    2. But IOS 250 allowed you to do more or less the same thing. Thus
    3. Allowing you to reinstall the unpatched IOS 249

    I'm assuming that what must have happened to me, then, is that my IOS249 somehow got patched somewhere in the process of me trying to install CIOS, and that I could've fixed it using the method that you described above.

    I believe I get that.

    I just finished getting (almost) everything setup a few seconds ago (after what I wrote above).

    The purpose of "Do not reload IOS" was so that, whatever IOS was already running, would just continue to run as opposed to selecting a new one on that first screen.

    I think I still don't fully understand what happened, but I doubt I was using the best tutorial in the world. So they probably just goofed on a step. But I did understand everything you wrote.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Well, you pretty much covered everything there! Have you tried that procedure on your new Wii? And is your Wii Brand new or second hand? Does the serial number on the bottom of your wii start with LU64?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •