Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Screwed up Cios, now Wadmanager won't run properly

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Well, you pretty much covered everything there! Have you tried that procedure on your new Wii? And is your Wii Brand new or second hand? Does the serial number on the bottom of your wii start with LU64?
    No this wii is DEFINITELY old.

    I'm glad you wrote back because I REALLY need your help now.

    For some odd reason I can't get any third party channels to run:

    No Neo Gamma, no USB Loader, No Wad manager.

    They all run fine from the Homebrew Channel, but won't run at all on the normal WIi screen.

    I started out with System 2.2... then I used a game to update to 3.0 and now I'm at 3.2. I tried the channels on both 3.0 and 3.2 and no dice.

    ANy help?

    ANYTHING would be greatly appreciated at this point.

    (BTW my console is like LU53 something or other.)

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. When you updated the system menu must have disabled your homebrew, so you need to run cIOS38_rev14-Installer, then install this, pick IOS 249, install the top two options, just leave the bottom one, and then see what happens. If still nothing, google CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042 and install. By the way, how did you update to 3.3?
    Last edited by jarkinber; 11-07-2009 at 12:42 PM.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. When you updated the system menu must have disabled your homebrew, so you need to run cIOS38_rev14-Installer, then install this, pick IOS 249, install the top two options, just leave the bottom one, and then see what happens. If still nothing, google CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042 and install. By the way, how did you update to 3.3?
    Thanks. I used AnyRegion Changer to update to 3.2 from 3.0.

    And I had used a game to update from 2.2 to 3.2

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. When you updated the system menu must have disabled your homebrew, so you need to run cIOS38_rev14-Installer, then install this, pick IOS 249, install the top two options, just leave the bottom one, and then see what happens. If still nothing, google CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042 and install. By the way, how did you update to 3.3?
    Did all of the above... nothing. Any other ideas?

    What firmware are you on?

    It's weird because everything runs fine from the homebrew channel but not the system menu...

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I don't suppose banner bomb or not having a hacks.ini could be the culprit could it?

    I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the homebrew channel (which didn't make any sense because the Homebrew channel is working just fine.)

    I tried using dop-ios to update the versions of all my channels.

    I tried using the "free region channel" hack in preloader. Tried everything you suggested.

    Even installed patchmii.

    Nothing seems to have screwed up my system in the slightest... but nothing has helped either.

    Everything still runs fine in the homebrew channel, but nothing I install as it's own channel works.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Have you tried installing cIOSCorp? That may help. It will let you run backups from the disc channel, but you should probably un-install preloader first though. By the way, i'm on v 4.2, and after a bit of soft-modification, everything works fine for me.
    Last edited by jarkinber; 11-07-2009 at 09:31 PM.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Have you tried installing cIOSCorp? That may help. It will let you run backups from the disc channel, but you should probably un-install preloader first though. By the way, i'm on v 4.2, and after a bit of soft-modification, everything works fine for me.
    Yeah I'll have to find out a bit more about cIOSCorp before I install it.

    right now the only things I can't run are those channels (which, besides the nintendo ones and virtual consoles, i can just run on the homebrew channel) virtual console games i can't play anyway because i don't have a wave bird.

    maybe you just can't run channels on 3.2... who knows.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jarkinber View Post
    Have you tried installing cIOSCorp? That may help. It will let you run backups from the disc channel, but you should probably un-install preloader first though. By the way, i'm on v 4.2, and after a bit of soft-modification, everything works fine for me.
    cIOScorp is no good.

    The problem with all these "packaged" programs and one-stop tutorials is you go through the motions without actually UNDERSTANDING what each step of the process does.

    After days and days of research, I finally understand that my problem is really an IOS problem (because ALL channel problems are IOS problems).

    I was able to get the Wii shop channel to work because the latest version of it uses IOS61. So I used DOP-IOS to install IOS61.

    I have no idea which IOS custom channels and the virtual console use, but I'm pretty damned sure that, once I find out, they will work just fine.

    My goal was to be able to run everything the way it should be on version 3.2 without updating.

    So far... I'm halfway there. (Now that I have shop channel installed I can install Nintendo channel, internet channel, and whatever else I want while I wait to find the solution to the custom channels thing.)

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ok, good luck. I'm sorry that I haven't been able to fix your problem, but I have been fairly busy lately.

    I'm sure if you update to wii version 4.1 using Any Region Changer, install cIOSCorp 3.5, then update to 4.2, install all of your homebrew again, (which isn't very difficult, i've done it several times) then it'll be a lot easier as everything works absolutely fine for me. Just don't update to the next Wii System Menu until further notice.

    If you really don't want to update for any reason, search up and install every IOS that you need to get your channels working, but there really isn't any need. Plus, you'll be able to use all of the software that is coming out for the 4.2 Menu.

    If you need anything else, please ask me. I will try my best to find a solution to your problem. In the mean time, good luck and please get to me back soon.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Oh, yeah. To answer your issue about cIOSCorp, what it basically does, is it overwrites most of the system menu IOSs and it replaces them with fakesigned ones. Do not worry, this is perfectly safe.

    You won't be able to run the Hackmii installer unless you un-install cIOSCorp, but you will be able to play all of your backup Wii and Gamecube games, which saves a lot of fuss. And the IOSs which it installs will probably let you run your channels.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •