Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wii Cannot read US legit games

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Wii Cannot read US legit games

    Hey guys,

    I had homebrew for sometime now and the past few games I bought I could not play either from backup and regular So is what the hell i have nothing to loose all my games are legit so with that being said I formated the Wii everything is fine I upgraded to 4.2E and its normal excpet I still cant play games.

    When I formated the Wii and did the setup I saw that it did not have a USA location everything was over seas, so what I am thinking is something Ive done wrong and that is why it cant read the games I buy.

    any suggestions I even tried to install homebew and got it installed but when I try to run anything inside it I get a black screen.
    Thanks for your help in advance
    Weak

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Legendary
    EMPRESS of ALL
    Retired Head Admin

    Do NOT PM for Site or Wii Issues
    Gen3SF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    9,036
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 4,658 Times in 2,237 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    Installation of the HBC is not enough to play your game discs. You will need to do a softmod in order to use a backup loader that you can set to play out-of-region game discs. You might like to get some background by reading this guide: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...g-wii-faq.html

    Follow this tutorial to softmod your 4.2 Wii:
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tem-menus.html



  3. 1 User Says Thank You Gen3SF For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply but ... i am not playing out of region games I bought my Wii from the USA and the games from walmart . I think from hacking my Wii I changed the region and now it thinks im not USA.

  5. #4
    New Member HEROXOOT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    475
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    american games wont work on an European wii.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Legendary
    EMPRESS of ALL
    Retired Head Admin

    Do NOT PM for Site or Wii Issues
    Gen3SF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    9,036
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 4,658 Times in 2,237 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    Oh, I misunderstood when you said your Wii did not have a US location. You probably updated your Wii with an out-of-region game and have a semibricked Wii. Check here: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...-do-about.html

  7. #6
    New Member HEROXOOT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    475
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gen3sf View Post
    Oh, I misunderstood when you said your Wii did not have a US location. You probably updated your Wii with an out-of-region game and have a semibricked Wii. Check here: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...-do-about.html
    This happened to me once using iky cioscorp. I accedently ran the update on bleach versus crusade. semi bricked my wii because its a jp game. Lucky enough i had a recent nand backup.


    So as a suggestion OP. Bootmii + backup every month or 2.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    gen3sf,
    thanks again for your help .. just to make it clear when I went through the setup after a format it did not have USA for me to select so I guess from hacking it before I fed it up and somehow took it out of the orginal region
    again thanks very supportive site

    HEROXOOT,
    I had an american version of WII .. somehow i messed it up :P

    HEROXOOT,
    thanks for advice i will backup

  9. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    just a quick update .I can do everything but read disks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •