Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: ok I know another Newbie Here ... Getting VC Wiiware wads to run off SD ..

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question ok I know another Newbie Here ... Getting VC Wiiware wads to run off SD ..

    Need a little help ...

    I bought a Virgin Wii last Friday and I mistakenly let it do it's 4.2u update ...

    Since that time I followed the guides on this forum to SoftMod the Wii, with great sucess ...

    Was able to get the HomeBrew Channel installed ...

    Backed up my NAND Data

    Tested it out and able to run a Game Backup sucessfully with the backup loader...

    Was able to load VC and Wiiware wads with wad manager sucessfully to the internal Wii memory.

    So far everything that I care to do with the Wii is running well ...

    Now my problem ...

    I have filled the internal memory up with too many wads and would love to make use of the 8 gig SD card I have ...

    When I move the VC and Wiiware stuff from the Wii to the SD through the Management Screen, I get a failure to launch when trying to run them off the SD location ...

    I have read several tutorials on how to get this to work ... but they are written for 4.0u and 4.1u and mostly involve patching ios60, then I read somewhere else that 4.2u doesn't use ios60, it uses ios70 so there is a little confusion there ...

    There are also reports of patching ios60 that will brick the Wii ... I would hate to patch the wrong file and brick my new investment ...

    Anyone have any ideas ??? Sorry if this was already covered ... I have done alot of reading of these forums this week and I don't remember seeing it ...

    Thanks in advance ...

    JIFFSTER

    P.S. I just read on another site that BannerBomb v2 might be what I am looking for ... anyone have any ideas ???
    Last edited by JIFFSTER; 10-09-2009 at 12:05 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    bump!

    Also running into the same problem, would love the help

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Legendary
    EMPRESS of ALL
    Retired Head Admin

    Do NOT PM for Site or Wii Issues
    Gen3SF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    9,036
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 4,658 Times in 2,237 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    Your problem may still reside in not having enough system memory. My understanding is that the reason why WiiWare and VC have to be initially installed to the Wii and not directly to the SD card and then allowed to be moved is that the game is reloaded to Wii memory and back again as needed for use.

    Insufficient system memory may be the source of the problem. I reserve the right to also blame some 4.2 screwup for your problem.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm fairly sure that it's 4.2, considering that I hadn't used any of my system memory other then game saves at that point. I installed one vc game to system memory, transferred it to the SD and I get the game failed to launch error when trying to run it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Legendary
    EMPRESS of ALL
    Retired Head Admin

    Do NOT PM for Site or Wii Issues
    Gen3SF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    9,036
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 4,658 Times in 2,237 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    Ok, I'm free to blame 4.2. How about trying to reformat the SD card and trying different SD cards. We don't have enough experience yet with softmodded 4.2s to know if there is a bug with SD card interactions.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's not something that I'm terribly worried about at this point. Mainly just wanted to install the 64 games, a few snes and nes games to mess around with. I see that there are emulators to do all this at this point so I'm looking more into that.

    I'm actually using the 2gb wii Sandisk myself. It's been formated a few times to try the VC games and no luck. I'm sure a fix will show up eventually, I'm in no rush.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a 4.2 wii so many posts and youtube video this is crazy and hard to understand at times. I have just installed the homebrew with my sd card I have a wii 4.2u . I hope you can tell me how to to put games on my wii just using my sd card . Can u tell me
    how or send me a link of the video or something that will help me. Can I even do this
    with the sd card sdhc and how big will the sd card need to be. Do i use the same
    sd card that i install the HB channnel to load game so lost sorry please help thanks EE

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I may be wrong so don't quote me on this but I think part of the problem with the 4.3 update is that it causes a region mismatch. A region mismatch will brick your wii. Maybe not right away but it will happen. Anyregion changer can help to spot and fix this problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Legendary
    EMPRESS of ALL
    Retired Head Admin

    Do NOT PM for Site or Wii Issues
    Gen3SF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    9,036
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 4,658 Times in 2,237 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    This is now an old thread-it dated from less than a week after the Nintendo 4.2 update. The problem with WiiWare and VC from SD or SDHC was that a patched IOS70 was needed. This information is now included in the softmodding guide for 4.2Wiis.

    The region mismatch you are thinking of was the Korean Wiis that had been flashed with another region-the 003 error code brick.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used the softmodding guide last week to setup my Wii. So, all I need to do is patch the IOS70 to get the wiiware to run off of the SD?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •