Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: What do the columns mean in Wad Manager? And can I install wads from this sdhc card?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Proper way to remove wads from nand, Extending the nand memory (?), etc..

    Hi, in "Yet Another Wad Manager," there are 3 columns:

    IOS, HW, and Pass.

    When I load an SDHC Sandisk Ultra 8gb card that I formatted on Fat32, the Wad Manager lets me select the wad files with the + key, but it doesn't give me an option to install them. It just tells me I can press A to go to the directory the file is in, etc, etc.

    It didn't seem to do that with my other 2gb Sandisk card.

    So is it the card?

    With this SDHC card, all the wads are listed as "No" under the column called "HW." What does that mean? Maybe that has something to do with it?
    ps: I think I figured it out...? It wasn't installing them from either card because I was trying to install them from a subdirectory i placed inside the wad directory. I guess it will ONLY install wads in the wad directory?

    pps: 9 out of 27 files installed, and the rest FAILED. I was installing them off the SDHC card, but I have a feeling it's not the card if 9 of them installed properly. What gives?

    I saw the last error was Error 1010...

    ppps: Oh wait.. that means my system memory is full.
    So: 1: IS THERE ANY WAY TO EXTEND THE MEMORY, or install the WADS on the SD CARD OR THE USB?

    And 2: DO I HAVE TO USE WAD MANAGER TO UNINSTALL THE WADS, or IS IT FINE TO JUST REMOVE THEM FROM THE NAND MEMORY? Or will that screw things up?


    And 3: Why is it that if I erase one wad file it sometimes frees up like 220 blocks on the system memory (nand)? How can there be that many blocks in one wad file?

    4. How do I know how many nand blocks a wad file will take up before I install it as a channel?

    And finally:

    5. When I load Wad Manager it says: " HW_AHBPROT is disabled" and it asks me if I want to load another IOS? Should I load IOS236 or should I enable HW_AHBPROT? And if the latter, how do i enable it?


    Thanks ahead of time!

    -DS
    Last edited by danielscissorhands; 08-23-2014 at 06:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,610
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 1,124 Times in 959 Posts
    I don't know what you are trying to do, since there isn't a guide that I know of on this site that uses that WAD Manger. The one we recommend to be used is Wii Mod 3.2.

    One block is 128k (8 blocks per meg). So 220 blocks is 27.5 megs, which is more than reasonable, depending on what it is (most N64 games are larger than that, for comparison).

    If the WAD results in a channel installed, you can go into Wii Settings -> Data Management -> Channels and from there delete the channel or move the channel to SD card to free up space. Moving to SD card makes it launchable from SD Card Menu by copying back a temp copy to system memory to launch it from, so you would want to be sure to have about 250 block free after you are done with everything to make room for this temp copy, if you choose to do it this way.

    If the WAD is one that doesn't result in a channel, you need the WAD again to uninstall it from memory using the WAD MAnager. Careful which type of WAD it is though, if it's something like Dios Mios which replaces the stock Mios and you delete it, you have no Mios and that can cause damage, so the way to "uninstall" Dios Mios is to reinstall the stock Mios on top of DM, still taking up some space, but I think less than DM.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    So you are saying I can move channels to the SD card and delete them from the Nand to free up space, but then I have to move a temp copy over? How do I move a temp copy over?

    Thanks for explaining the megs to blocks ratio. I didn't know that.

    Also.. I just edited my above post to ask another question:

    5. When I load Wad Manager it says: " HW_AHBPROT is disabled" and it asks me if I want to load another IOS? Should I load IOS236 or should I enable HW_AHBPROT? And if the latter, how do i enable it?

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,610
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 1,124 Times in 959 Posts
    The copy to temp NAND happens automatically when you launch a channel from the SD card menu. You don't have to do anything special other than make sure you have room for it.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Oh thanks. And how about my question about AHBPROT being disabled? Do I want to somehow enable it (Not sure how) or use IOS236 instead?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Dr. House @ Wiihacks
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,741
    Thanks
    1,897
    Thanked 4,396 Times in 3,688 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    What's it default to or using when it says that? Should be 249.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, 249. Is it fine that it says AHBPROT is disabled, or is something going wrong there?

    Another odd thing... My Priiloader was crashing when I clicked on "launch title". The screen was going black with code dump. But then I erased a bunch of channels and homebrew filter (because i read it might cause a problem), and now it works just fine. Do i need homebrew filter, really?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Dr. House @ Wiihacks
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,741
    Thanks
    1,897
    Thanked 4,396 Times in 3,688 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Use WiiMod instead.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks. I will check it out.

    So I dont need to worry about AHPBROT being disabled?

    Btw, do you know what those 3 columns in Wii manager mean... IOS, HW, and Pass?
    Last edited by nightstah; 08-23-2014 at 07:21 PM. Reason: Use EDIT button, please

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Dr. House @ Wiihacks
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,741
    Thanks
    1,897
    Thanked 4,396 Times in 3,688 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Don't double post. If you'd use what you've been instructed to (twice now, if you're counting) you'd be asking a lot less questions and getting better results. There's a reason why we recommend WiiMod; this thread is ample illustration of that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •