Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: "Failed to load system menu"

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    "Failed to load system menu"

    Was just using my Wii last night with no problems. ANd have not made any changes to the system since then.

    But today when I started it up instead of the Wii system menu I got the Priiloader menu.

    Trying to load the system menu from here I get the message "failed to load system menu!"

    I am still able to access USB Loader GX and my USB drive through the homebrew channel.

    Anyone know why my Wii system menu might have disappeared and how I can get it back?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked 1,141 Times in 897 Posts
    Can you still access the Homebrew channel?

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, from the Priiloader menu that appears when I boot my Wii, I can go to Homebrew and get into USB loader GX from there. But the Wii System menu has become inaccessible.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked 1,141 Times in 897 Posts
    You'll need to redo your mod. Use your Priiloader to access HBC and reinstall the IOS and ModPacks. Also do the part of the guide that has you install system menu 4.1. That should get you back to the menu again. You'll probably need to reinstall Priiloader once you done that so be sure you do the menu 4.1 part LAST as you may cause a full brick if you don't install the IOSs first. The reason a full brick would occur is because Priiloader will be overwritten when you install the menu.

    If you wish, you can wait for a second opinion before attempting anything.

    Edit: you can find the ANY Wii guide conveniently linked in my signature below and good luck

    Edit 2: As for how it disappeared, it's hard to say for sure. I've never heard of it just happening by itself. My best guess would be, if someone else has access to the system, they must've uninstalled it either by accident or intentionally (for whatever reason). Fortunately you still have access to HBC and your apps so fixing it shouldn't prove difficult.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You SNES_Master For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    SNES_Master,

    No one had access to my Wii. Stanger still it was working perfectly fine the night before - I had just used it with no problems. But then suddenly when I booted it up this morning I got first a black screen with "no signal" and then on reboot the Priiloader menu.

    I am a little confused about the order of things you are suggesting about Priiloader and system menu.

    Could you clarify, System Menu 4.1 should be the last thing I install? Before installing the Menu, I should install Priiloader?

    I want to make sure I get the order right becasue you say that if Priiloader overwritten by the menu that could brick my wii. If Priiloader will be overwritten by the menu, shouldn't I be installing Priiloader after System Menu, not before?

    Thanks for clarifying.

  7. #6
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked 1,141 Times in 897 Posts
    1) Reinstall the IOSs and cIOSs.

    2) Reinstall the system menu.

    3) Reinstall Priiloader.

    That order. Once you install the system menu that removed Priiloader so that's why Priiloader comes last. Sorry, I didn't clarify that.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok I am following the guide again from Chapter two and I have run into a problem.

    I was able to install all 30 Wads successfully.

    But now the guide says "If updating your IOS, select IOS update." Problem is there is no option for IOS update showing up for me on the list. I did extract the IOS update onto my SD card and verified it, so I know it's on the card. Is it supposed to be in the "wad" directory? What should I do in this situation?


    Ok, got lucky here. I left the folder and came back. Now IOS update is there! Thankfully. Moving right along...

    Good news: I have the system menu back. That part is fixed.

    Bad news: USB loader GX is freezing on the "Initalizing USB device" message.

    Maybe I need to delete all previous data for USB loader GX on my SD card and start over?

    Do you have a link for a tutorial that will tell me how to boot into USB loader GX all from my USB drive without using the SD card at all? Hoping this will improve things.

    Right now I am downloading the "allinone" package from their website. Thanks for all your help.
    Last edited by nightstah; 01-01-2014 at 03:23 PM. Reason: Use EDIT button, please

  9. #8
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked 1,141 Times in 897 Posts
    I would start over with USB Loader GX, yes.

    There could be something from the old one causing that issue.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    SNES_Master,

    I can't understand it but the problem has come back. I booted up my Wii today and once again got the "no signal" on my screen. The most I can get now is a screen saying "no signal" or a totally black screen.

    I can't account for it. Yesterday I was using the Wii as usual and playing games with no problem.

    Although I re-installed Priiloader last time, I cannot access it using reset. When I press reset nothing happens. I know it is on there because after reinstalling everything per your instructions, I loaded into Priiloader and adjusted settings in it. But it is as if it is gone.

    I also installed bootmii on boot2 when I first got my Wii. Just now I put the bootmi folder onto my SD card and tried to boot, but nothing. It's like nothing is there.

    I am not sure what to think. Is it possible the memory inside my Wii is damaged or something?

    Is there anything I can do to access my Wii again?

    Ok, I have been trying different things here.

    I am hoping this will be my last post on this topic and that it might help someone else who ends up in a similar situation, with a black screen or "no signal."

    What I ended up doing was putting all of my files on a new SD card.

    Everything appears to be working normally now.

    So I've concluded the SD card I was using must have been defective or failing and this was the source of all the problems.
    Last edited by nightstah; 01-01-2014 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Use EDIT button, please

  11. #10
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked 1,141 Times in 897 Posts
    Unusual, but glad you solved the problem.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •