Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: "Failed to load system menu"

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,327
    Thanks
    1,807
    Thanked 4,257 Times in 3,579 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    @whitesnow

    In the future, please use the "EDIT" button rather than making one post after another. This is clearly in the site rules you accepted (found multiple places). Know you're new, but please bear this in mind for future reference. Glad you got your issue sorted.
    Last edited by nightstah; 01-01-2014 at 04:24 PM.

  2. #12
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,186
    Thanks
    1,443
    Thanked 2,549 Times in 1,884 Posts
    Huh... that certainly is an unconventional fix to the Wii not booting at all. The only thing I can think of that could cause black screen upon boot and no access to priiloader would be a bootmii config file that gives a TV resolution that is not supported. Any chance you could upload the bootmii.ini file from your old card so we could have a look?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,327
    Thanks
    1,807
    Thanked 4,257 Times in 3,579 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    It seems rather cyclic. He gets it right, plays the thing --- next day, starts all over again. I find it... suspect that he's ruled it SD card-related (in that it may just be that he got it going again, only to find tomorrow it doesn't). Not trying to be discouraging, it just seems --- unlikely? Definitely weird, almost sounds like a hardware problem (if not misconfigured).

  4. #14
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,161
    Thanks
    969
    Thanked 1,108 Times in 874 Posts
    I can't think of any reason why the system menu would be gone due to the SD card, this is a bit beyond my scope at this point. So I'll leave it in CJizzle's capable hands.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

  5. #15
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,186
    Thanks
    1,443
    Thanked 2,549 Times in 1,884 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SNES_Master View Post
    I can't think of any reason why the system menu would be gone due to the SD card, this is a bit beyond my scope at this point. So I'll leave it in CJizzle's capable hands.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct
    You give me too much credit, I'm far from capable lmao!!!

    I've seen an occasional glitch before where the system menu just zapped itself for no apparent reason, and thanks to priiloader and/or bootmii it was able to be reinstalled. I have no clue why that has happened. In this case what I'm referring to is the secondary issue of nothing happening at all while the SD card is in. Throwing wild guesses out there really.

    And what are you talking about nighty? You know we always get every last detail spelled out for us around here!

    Edit: @op, if this happens again try booting using blind to make sure all your settings are correct

  6. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


  7. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    cjizzle, the only thing is that at the time I was getting the problem my bootmii files were not on the SD card. I have them stored on my computer in case of emergency and only copied them onto my SD card after I saw I had lost access to Priiloader because I wanted to try to gain access to my system using bootmii. But as you know from my last posts I still got a black screen.

    For whatever reason, though, when I put the bootmii folder on my new SD card, it booted directly into bootmii, and since then I have had no problems. Just rebooted my Wii again to check and it' still working, knock on wood! But one thing I did notice is I am not getting the "multiple blue flashes" which I read are the sign that bootmii is installed. So when I first tried to boot using my old SD card, I assumed somehow everything on my Wii which had previously installed had gotten erased or had become inaccessible through some kind of hardware damage. But that is apparently not the case.

    I should add that I am using the WiitoHDMI converter, to use my Wii with my second monitor. For awhile I thought that might be the culprit because of the "no signal" message; but I can't see any reason why it would work with one SD card and not another, if it was monitor or HDMI converter related.

    If the problem comes back I will post here again to let you know. Thanks to everyone who offered their input and tried to help.

    I've uploaded my bootmii ini file. If you find anything out of the ordinary please let me know.

    bootmii.rar
    Last edited by whitesnowblacksky; 01-02-2014 at 01:37 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •