Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Component displays on Home screen but "no signal or unsupported resolution" in games?

  1. #1
    New Member skaldicpoet9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Component displays on Home screen but "no signal or unsupported resolution" in games?

    I bought a new pair of component cables off of Amazon to use on my SDTV with component inputs, however, when the cables are plugged in the home screen will display but when I try to boot into any games or hoembrew apps I get a black screen with "no signal or unsupported resolution" on my tv screen. Am I doing something wrong? I double checked and the cables are plugged in correctly (and the home screen looks beautiful at least lol) so it can't be that. I just have a 32" standard def Orion t.v. with component inputs in the back, so there isn't too many video options in the video menu to tweak. Anyone have any ideas on what to do about this?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,150
    Thanks
    965
    Thanked 1,108 Times in 874 Posts
    Set your Wii and Homebrew to display 480p? I'm just spitballing here, I've only ever used my Wii on a HDTV.

    If I spelled something wrong, I'll just blame it on auto-correct

  3. #3
    New Member skaldicpoet9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, I tried that but I guess this t.v. doesn't support 480p. I was under the assumption that since this t.v. had component inputs that it could display 480p but when I selected the option in the Wii system menu it knocks the signal out and it displays the aforementioned message. When I changed it back to 480i I was able to actually see the home screen but once you try to launch a game though it loses the signal somehow.

  4. #4
    New Member Nes_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 38 Times in 26 Posts
    Here's along shot.
    Are these cables meant for HDTVs or they the standard component cables?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Not sure why you'd ask that; HDMI won't plug into the Nintendo Wii (OP never mentioned an after-market adapter)...

  6. #6
    New Member Nes_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 38 Times in 26 Posts
    Sorry, I should have specified the Enhanced Definition cables.
    The Enhanced Definition cables are quite different from the composite RCA jacks, but may send good a signal to the tv at times.

  7. #7
    New Member skaldicpoet9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hmm, I am not sure. I just assumed that if I bought component cables and this tv had a component input it would work. These are the cabnles I bought: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skaldicpoet9 View Post
    Hmm, I am not sure. I just assumed that if I bought component cables and this tv had a component input it would work. These are the cabnles I bought: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    It should work fine. Even though component cables work best at 480p they still work fine at 480i. Even component cables at 480i look better than composite video at 480i. A standard tube style TV with component hook ups in the back can still only display at 480i.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Red/White and yellow is composite-only. OP says he's got component connections on back. Not sure who is confused here, but somebody certainly is

  10. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,172
    Thanks
    1,437
    Thanked 2,544 Times in 1,880 Posts
    Well, I did some searching on this issue, and the very first thing I found regarding orion crt TVs and component issues was about a guy who found a nice looking TV on the curb but couldn't get it to work with component cables... Read into this what you will, but perhaps this scenario relates?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •