Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: skylander swap force disk not being read by wii

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy skylander swap force disk not being read by wii

    Hi, just bought my son skylander swapforce for xmas thought i'd try it out first but the wii is saying that the disk is corrupt ..all my other skylander disk load fine from disk or HDD.The wii is softmoded and i usually use wiiflow and run every thing from hdd ....is there a work around for this or shall i take game back to shop, it is the u.k version
    ..all best leafy

  2. #2
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,605
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 1,121 Times in 956 Posts
    Post a syscheck so we can make sure your IOSs are in line. If not, you can fix those and try the disk again. If not, then the disk probably is bad and should be returned for a replacement.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 77 Times in 67 Posts
    Shot in the dark....you wouldn't happen to be sticking the Wii U version of this game in to a Wii?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will do a syscheck ..also read somewhere that the disk is dual layer and was wondering if this could be the prob as my wii is getting on ..Can anyone confirm that the original should work just out of the box.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    syscheck ..hope this is correct

    Spoiler

    Last edited by leafy; 11-19-2013 at 11:13 AM. Reason: forgot header

  6. #6
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,605
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 1,121 Times in 956 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leafy View Post
    I will do a syscheck ..also read somewhere that the disk is dual layer and was wondering if this could be the prob as my wii is getting on ..Can anyone confirm that the original should work just out of the box.
    Have you tried other dual layer disks with success? Smash Bros Brawl? If that works, then that wouldn't be the issue here. If Brawl also fails, then that very well could be the issue (as was an issue with many of the oldest of units -- my launch unit couldn't read dual-layer disks until I sent it in for repair).

    Quote Originally Posted by leafy View Post

    Spoiler

    The mod looks good to me. So if you can test the dual-layered problem by trying to play another game that is DL, try it. If that's the issue, you will need a repair from Nintendo and it will likely cost $80ish plus shipping.

    If that is not the issue, then it is likely the game itself. If you have a friend who also has a non-modded Wii, you should see if you can try the game in his system to see if it works there or not.
    Last edited by llaffer; 11-19-2013 at 11:17 AM.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    just tried super smash bros from cd and that is failing as well ..That use to work (this is the trouble when running everything from harddrive) so best I clean the lens on cd drive

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 77 Times in 67 Posts
    Nintendo I believe will do this repair for free. Problems with Dual Layer discs is an acknowledged problem with the Wii. I had an old out of warranty Wii that would not read dual layer games. Customer service went through some basic trouble shooting which basically was asking if the disc was dirty or scratched. They arranged a free repair for me and had me send my Wii and copy of Other M to them.

    They actually ended up refusing to repair it because the console was a refurbished gamestop unit and had a sticker on it. They said the console had been opened and they had no idea what was done to it so they would not work on it.

    If your console is softmodded they could refuse to repair it as well (but no harm in trying). They would probably also refuse to the $80 ish repair as well if any of those situations apply to your console. The $80ish repair doesn't really make sense unless you are worried about game saves and purchases (homebrew has ways around that stuff though) since you can find a replacement console for the same or cheaper.

    If Nintendo repair is not an option you can

    1) borrow a Wii or some other method to get a good rip you can play off a HDD
    2) fix it yourself. Try the cleaning and if it still doesn't work you can buy a replacement disc drive for the Wii for under $30. They are pretty easy to replace, I used some tear down/replacement guides on this website and fixed mine in about 15 minutes.
    Last edited by blaisedinsd; 11-19-2013 at 11:56 AM.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I manged to get a copy on to HDD and that works great so have order a replacement drive Nintendo Wii DVD Drive D32 D4 (D3-2 D2A D2B D2C D2E DMS) - New A1 hopefully it should work in my D2A ..will let you guys know how i get on

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •