Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 1051 and 1159 leaving me perplexed

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey, guys.

    I have over 30 games burned on Nipponic and maxell DVD-R discs. Most of them work, from both brands. 10 or some backups used to work perfectly before (loading from Neogamma and from the System Menu) but now they don't. They return either 1159, 1051 or 1225. Some actually load on Neogamma, but after introductory logos, savepoints or even the first black screen, I get "The disc could not be read."

    My Wii is not using the drive that isn't able to read backups, as the other backups still work fine.
    The DVDs were not burned on Verbatim like everyone here says they should be, but they used to work before, and I never had an issue.

    I tried using Neogamma R8 RC1, R9 B56 and R6, but I get errors 1051, 1159 and "The disc could not be read" in all of them. One particular backup, "Mario and Sonic at the London Olympic Games", used to be my favorite. It still shows the Start screen on the System Menu, but Neogamma isn't able to notice the disc at all.

    Before you guys just repeat the usual "Use Verbatim DVD-R", okay, I'll try to find that, but what if that is not the issue? I mean, these games worked completely fine before and they were able to save, load and run properly. There weren't even any lags.

    I don't think I changed anything on the console, at least not on purpose. What could it be?

    Cheers!

    Wii 4.3U (bought in 2006)
    Neogamma R9 B56
    NTSC-U
    Drive: GC2-D2B

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,526
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,340 Times in 3,638 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    To Eryx:

    The problem with piece of crap media is, it's a piece of crap. CMC MAG is notorious (that's a Media ID), for example --- which is what a lot of media out there is. You can burn it, and it may verify. It may play TODAY, but literally the next day it may no longer play anymore.

    Based on your post and observations, I can readily say this is 99% chance the cause. And yep, you know what you must do.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nightstah View Post
    To Eryx:

    The problem with piece of crap media is, it's a piece of crap. CMC MAG is notorious (that's a Media ID), for example --- which is what a lot of media out there is. You can burn it, and it may verify. It may play TODAY, but literally the next day it may no longer play anymore.

    Based on your post and observations, I can readily say this is 99% chance the cause. And yep, you know what you must do.
    Thank you for the input.

    I wasn't willing to give up yesterday, so I started trying everything. Different cIOS, different loader, etc. Some things changed, weirdly enough. I no longer get errors 1051 and 1159 using NeoGamma R9, but the games aren't playable either. Some even show the developer's logo (CAPCOM, SEGA, Nintendo etc.) but that's as far as it goes before a "The disc could not be read" error.

    One game I previously left on the "playable" pile is now returning that error at random times during gameplay. It depends on the mode I choose and how lucky I am. So I suppose the problem IS the media. That's gonna be a headache lol...

    One thing I'd really like to look into, though, is my copy of New Super Mario Bros. Wii: it's retail, and the newest game I have, and it is freezing at random times after I softmodded. Is there anything I could do? I really would like to be able to play the game normally, especially because I bought it in Brazil and it was very expensive here (the games I bought in the US cost me US$ 10, this one cost me US$ 70).

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,526
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,340 Times in 3,638 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, man, but it's retail! I don't have the wbfs/iso images, so I can't fix errors on Windows.
    I bought the original game from an online store like Amazon, but particular to here. It's all original!

    As for what they said in the thread you linked:

    The patched Game(see below) works fine with a rev 14 dipped IOS53-v5406 or IOS53-v5149.




    Can I get that IOS from here on its own?
    Last edited by Eryx; 05-22-2013 at 10:18 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,526
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,340 Times in 3,638 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    If you're running that via disc channel, then you have the IOS that's necessary to run the game. If you didn't, it'd black screen and that'd be all she wrote. Post a SysCheck as a reply to this thread --- directions and program can be found HERE.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I thought I had already sent a SysCheck, but apparently not xD

    As for the Super Mario Bros Wii, it's an original game, it's not a backup! The guide you linked has no use for me, aside from the IOS mention... If I get that wad installed, will it make the game go back to working? Or should I get the original IOS back on my Wii? I'm a little confused on why you linked that to me.

    SysCheck:

    Spoiler


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,526
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,340 Times in 3,638 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Sigh. Really? So tell me... what's the point of you having garbage like DarkCorp and cIOS on the same Wii? Please show me the wiihacks guide that generates a SysCheck like that. That's your problem; there's a reason why we don't have you mix and match IOS/cIOS/DarkFAIL.

    Edit: and you ignored specific direction as to which SysCheck program was to be used.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nightstah View Post
    Sigh. Really? So tell me... what's the point of you having garbage like DarkCorp and cIOS on the same Wii? Please show me the wiihacks guide that generates a SysCheck like that. That's your problem; there's a reason why we don't have you mix and match IOS/cIOS/DarkFAIL.

    Edit: and you ignored specific direction as to which SysCheck program was to be used.
    Well, I tried DarkCorp way before messing with any of this, and as far as I knew up to this point, it had been uninstalled (by the uninstaller, lol). If it's still interfering with stuff on my Wii, I don't know, it's not on me, really.

    As for the SysCheck, I had it before visiting WiiHacks, so I figured it wouldn't be necessary to install another version/go through stuff here when I already have the thing. I did get the newer version from the forum now, the check is pasted below.

    Mario Bros. is working fine now under with Neogamma R9, the loader patches it. So that's sorted.

    And the discs... Well, I lost hope, as confused as I was at first lol. Thanks for being so polite anyway. Please tell me if there's anything missing from my console that could help running anything :P

    Spoiler

    Last edited by Eryx; 05-22-2013 at 05:48 PM.

  10. #10
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 490 Times in 428 Posts
    Most likely your problem is the laser is going bad. Playing burned media is harder on the laser lens. And playing crappy burned media is even worse for it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •