Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Soft-reset Wii-VC game (N64) without going back to the Wii Menu?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Soft-reset Wii-VC game (N64) without going back to the Wii Menu?

    Hi,


    I hope this is the right place to ask this, I'm not sure if this is related to a softmod option or something else.


    I have a softmodded Wii on 4.1U, before softmodding I purchased N64 VC games Zelda OoT / MM. I'm speedrunning the games so I need to be able to save/reset as quick as possible, but unfortunately for some reason when I reset (Home -> Reset, or clicking the Reset button on the console) it takes me back to the Wii-menu and I have to manually relaunch the VC game. On other peoples' consoles clicking reset just resets the VC game, rather than dumping you back to the Wii-menu. Is there an option to enable this quick N64-VC soft-reset on a softmodded console?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Did you follow this guide for softmodding? A "yes," you might look at the emulator section on the site here. Any stickied threads would be the place to look. A "no" to my question, then I'd suggest posting a SysCheck as a reply to this thread --- directions here.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply, yeah, I followed that guide. I've had a look at the emulators section but that all seems to be related to 3rd party emulation, this is actually the official N64 Wii Virtual Console games.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    On the mark, any expertise I may be offer comes to an end. Apologies, I've never dabbled. At best, you can hope for someone else to chime in. Beyond that, please do not bump the thread for 24 hours (saying in the nicest way possible, it's in the forum rules) if no activity is forthcoming.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You nightstah For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I have this exact same problem, I cannot for my life soft reset my wii. It's softmodded, with the 4.3 System Menu, but it is in fact the official VC version. I was just wondering if you'd solved the problem? I could really use some help :P Thanks

  7. #6
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dreak View Post
    Thanks for the reply, yeah, I followed that guide. I've had a look at the emulators section but that all seems to be related to 3rd party emulation, this is actually the official N64 Wii Virtual Console games.
    If you are having issues with the official builds of the games , then you should re-download said game , to see if it helps at all.

    This sounds more like a Nin problem than a soft mod problem.
    I could be wrong, so please post a system check here , so we can see whats installed.

    Thank You!

    Jax

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I tried redownloading it with no luck. I have now also tried my own injected wad, with no luck either. I will post a SysCheck ASAP.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You FallingFist For This Useful Post

    Jax

  10. #8
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,237
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 1,022 Times in 872 Posts
    If you are using the Wii Shop purchased channel, there should be a "reset" button as an option when you press "HOME".

    Click Below for recommended Links


  11. 1 User Says Thank You llaffer For This Useful Post

    Jax

  12. #9
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FallingFist View Post
    I tried redownloading it with no luck. I have now also tried my own injected wad, with no luck either. I will post a SysCheck ASAP.
    Hmm...Very weird!!

  13. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by llaffer View Post
    If you are using the Wii Shop purchased channel, there should be a "reset" button as an option when you press "HOME".
    There is in fact a reset button on the home menu when pressing the home button, but this provides the same effect.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jax View Post
    Hmm...Very weird!!
    Indeed it is.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •