Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wii with new motherboard! A few questions before modding.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii with new motherboard! A few questions before modding.

    Greetings to everyone on this forum.

    The situation looks like this.

    I have a Wii in my hands that was heavily bricked during a softmod attempet (my 10 year old cousin tried installing letterbomb by instructions given on a YT video), and it needed a motherboard change. The motherboard was changed and now I have a working wii, but with no softmod.

    As the wii was already once bricked, I don't want it to happen again (I dont have 100€ for a new motherboard ).
    The Wii is a black one without game cube ports, with a serial number: KEH70537311(9).
    The Wii system menu is 4.3E

    Now the questions that bother me:

    1. How can i find out what type of motherboard is in the new Wii (the old one didn't have gamecube ports, but the new one shows a Wii and gamecube disc in the disc menu, so it's possible that i got an older MB)

    2. Can this Wii be safely modded with the "Hack any Wii guide" found on this forum?

  2. #2
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,232
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 1,021 Times in 871 Posts
    I thought that gamecube disks were still shown in the non-gamecube Wiis, since it's still the same 4.3 menu running on it that would be running on older systems. So I wouldn't worry about that.

    I'd still say as long as the guide is followed carefully and exactly, it's a relatively safe process. The risk increases as people start fooling around with things off-guide on their own. Which is what I suspect happened to the first Wii. It wouldn't have been letterbomb that bricked it, but something else that he did that he shouldn't have.

    Mau and some of the other veterans of the site may know if there is a way to tell if the motherboard came from an older Wii or newer Wii, but I'm not as voiced at how the hardware works as others.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  3. #3
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    As far as I know, older motherboards would have the GC ports soldered on to it already. So if it doesn't I would assume it's a newer one. They are pretty much the same hardware (I'm pretty sure you can even attach GC ports to the new ones if you know what you're doing), so it shouldn't be an issue.

    Again, I could be wrong. I'm sure somebody more knowledgable will weigh in if I am.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the gamecube clarification, I never owned a Wii so I thought it's because of the new (old?) motherboard.

    By reading so far I learned that this Wii can't play backups from DVD media, but that can be done by ripping the games to a USB hard drive! Am i right?

    I'll hack the console tomorrow when I gather more data and make everything ready. Hope it will not brick this time.

    As for the previous brick, my cousin said that he tried to change the background or something, and that resulted in the unfixable black screen. Ofcourse he didn't do a NAND backup or anything :/

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Yes, correct. And that sounds like a custom theme gone wrong (which is exactly what would happen in such a scenario).

  6. #6
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,232
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 1,021 Times in 871 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowstrike View Post
    Thanks for the gamecube clarification, I never owned a Wii so I thought it's because of the new (old?) motherboard.

    By reading so far I learned that this Wii can't play backups from DVD media, but that can be done by ripping the games to a USB hard drive! Am i right?

    I'll hack the console tomorrow when I gather more data and make everything ready. Hope it will not brick this time.

    As for the previous brick, my cousin said that he tried to change the background or something, and that resulted in the unfixable black screen. Ofcourse he didn't do a NAND backup or anything :/
    Yes. After you mod and have current loaders (part of chapter 3 of the guide), you can rip your games to the hard drive. Hard drive guides that we have (FAT32 and NTFS) will give you more assistance with that part. Those guides are also in my signature.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the help. I successfully managed to hack the wii. Backed up games with CFG Loader to a 16GB ntfs formatted kingston USB stick and they work fine.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •