Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Internet connection issue: could it be due to cIOS messing up?

  1. #1
    New Member supersca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Internet connection issue: could it be due to cIOS messing up?

    Hi everyone!
    I think I cannot define myseld a noob, but the question I'm going to ask seems so...this is the reason why i'm posting right here!
    So in few words here's my issue:
    - Before i had a wi-fi connection at home, i bought an original Nintendo LAN adapter;
    - It worked fine
    - One day I switched to wi-fi
    - After several years, my wi-fi router need some fixing (i think i can mange to make it working properly again, but it'll need some time)
    - I then decided to go back for a couple of weeks on my LAN adapter.
    - Unfrotunately it doesn't work anymore! After the connection test: Error 51420,51421,51422 (depends on which one of three connection i set and try to use)
    - I've already check all around internet, but seems nobody is in my exactly situation, and I DO NOT WANT (of course) TO UPDATE MY SYSTEM as Nintendo suggests in its FAQs and common error fixing.
    - My Wii has a very old firmware: 3.4 EU.
    - I've tried everything: clear all connection, changing/teatsing ethernet cables, etc..

    Is it normal that it doesn't even show me the MAC address of the adapter (it shows a shadowed 0.0.0.0.0.0.0) although it shows the wi-fi wii mac address?
    Is it possible to try my lan adapter with my pc? I mean, if a stuck it into my laptop, it doesn't even see it and i dunno if it's normal because only the wii system can see it or not!
    Is it possible that, during the years, I messed up so much with cIOS and other things that I compromised the use of a LAN adapter in the usb ports?
    And if so, could it be useful (and possible) to update some stuff to make the adapter work again? (if Nintendo suggest you to upgrade your system, I wonder if i do it in a "wiihacks way" without using the official update road.
    I'm also willing to crack open the adapter ("crack" beacuse i dunno how to undo the two bolded screws on the back of it)

    Any help would be very appreciated and user will receive as a reward lots of thumbs!
    Cheers,
    Supersca
    You don't know the power of the Dark Side!


  2. #2
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,377
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,067 Times in 909 Posts
    If your system and mod is that old, then updating it to "current" would at least be a good first step. It may fix itself after that, it may not. But I think remodding your system is a good first start.

    I have a link to the Softmod any Wii guide in my signature. Any questions about the guide should be a rely in the guide's thread. After that and your connectivity still does not work, then we can take a look at it from I there. Do everything in the guide, all of the optional stuff you should do since you have 3.x (things are optional for those who already have 4.3 systems)

    Click Below for recommended Links


  3. 1 User Says Thank You llaffer For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member supersca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thx mate!
    Ok i'll do it tonite or tommorrow morning, depends on free time disposal.
    I'm a quite sad to clear my softmod and all the things downloaded and installed in years...also b/c i'm one of those lucky guys who never encontered a problem w/o a quick 5 mins solution right away on wiihacks (worst one problably was the black screen on COD or error 002...so imagine!). Everything always worked like a charm, thx to you guys of Wiihacks!
    I'll let you know how wiil the update have turned.
    Cheers,
    Supersca
    You don't know the power of the Dark Side!


  5. #4
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,377
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,067 Times in 909 Posts
    You shouldn't have to clear out anything. If you have data on your SD card you want saved, back it up so you can restore it when you're done.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  6. 1 User Says Thank You llaffer For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    New Member supersca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Copy that!
    Thought i couldn't use anymore some of what i had in my sd because of different cIOS...Nice to hear that, I have tons of Back ups of my sd stuff (also nand, for bootmi but i hope i won't need it )
    Let's see what mess i'll do
    Cheers,
    Supersca
    You don't know the power of the Dark Side!


  8. #6
    New Member supersca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well, ok i 've done everything and all seems to work like a charm, but no LAN connection!
    I'm really thinking that the grey rectangular box is broken...hopefully i'll try it with another wii tomorrow, but anyway i wonder if in theory you can check it with a normal computer (?)
    BTW, I've also to admit that, although all the recommendations, i've done all the rimodding with my hd and my headbanger connect to the two usb ports...Woops!Could this have influenced the mod in order to compromise the LAN ADAPTER thing or the only thing that this could do is messing up the mod in order to "almost brick" mode?
    Another thing, i had to mod the wii through HBC b/c BB didn't work for me (i tried also the different letter versions B C D E, but it couldn't find the IOS to load or something like that).
    So, should I crack in two pieces the LAN and see if I can manage to solder some broken connection?
    Cheers
    S

    ps: However it's nice to have all the stuff updated in my HBC/modded system! thx for making me do that!
    pps: one last thing. Before this mod i had bootmi (as boot2) to save my ass in case of brick, now i have priiloader but i've also put bootmii on my sd so it's always booting that before wii official sys menu...Is this ok or does it makes problems with priiloader (i mean if i run priiloader keeping pressed the reset button while booting).
    Last edited by supersca; 03-25-2013 at 03:02 PM.
    You don't know the power of the Dark Side!


  9. #7
    New Member supersca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hey Laffer!
    No more suggestion after my last post?
    Cheers,
    S
    You don't know the power of the Dark Side!


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •