Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Games freeze while playing

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Games freeze while playing

    Hi there.
    So, I managed to figure out what was wrong with my files that didn't allow me to run them in a softmod Wii.
    This evening my daughter wanted to play some Just Dance games: Just Dance 4 (SJXD41) and Just Dance Disney (SJ6P41).
    Both games started ok but then while playing some song the game froze and the only way to escape was to force Wii to shut down.
    The exact minute/second of a song when the game freezes is not constant.
    I've also tried to use configloader gx but no luck.
    I've read some post but none was dealing with a game freeze during play (some games freeze before loading the game).

    Hope someone can help me with this.
    Thanks.
    Pedro

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,298
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,627 Times in 1,931 Posts
    Make sure any power saving/sleep mode is disabled for your drive. The drive mfg should have software available for download that will allow you to disable that.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi.
    Last night I tried to do a deeper debug. Here's what I found.
    I tried playing the game with one remote and it went smoothly.
    Then I tried with 2 remotes and this was when during playback the 2ns remote started vibrating like crazy thus freezing the game.
    Is this an issue common to games and the use of 2 remotes? Could this be a faulty remote? Is there a way (software or hardware) to overcome this?
    Many thanks.

    Hello.
    A bit more information.
    I tried playing the game with 1 remote only and the game played fine with both my remotes.
    Then I tried with both remotes at the same time and the game freezes.
    Does any one know what might be causing this?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by llaffer; 02-28-2013 at 03:23 PM. Reason: Merging posts.

  4. #4
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    397
    Thanked 1,127 Times in 962 Posts
    Do not double-post on a thread. If you need to add additional information to your post, ^^^^^ An Edit Post button exists right here. Allow 24-hours before you post again to bump the thread.

    As for the solution to your problem: I don't know. Never heard of this before. Post a syscheck (directions on how to run and post one are in my signature) and we'll see if anything jumps out.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  5. #5
    New Member BabyDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
    Very strange. My kids have had Just Dance 4 going with 4 remotes, no issues. This does not sound like a normal issue.

    1.) Please post a syscheck.
    2.) Are they all legitimate Nintendo controllers? Any off-brand (Nyko) controllers? Are they original Wii controllers or Wii Motion Plus controllers?
    3.) Does this still happen when you run the game from the original disc?
    4.) What's the condition of the discs that they were ripped from? Scratched, or pristine?
    5.) Are there any other multi-controller games you can try? Super Mario, Mario Kart, etc?
    6.) What type of hard drive do you have? What format? Fat32, NTFS, WBFS?

    Baby Daddy's System



  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi. First of all, sorry for the double-post. Will pay better attention next time.
    As for the requested information, here it is:
    1.) syscheck

    Spoiler



    2.) Both are legitimate nintendo wii remote with motion plus already included.
    3.) No. Never noticed.
    4.) Pristine condition.
    5.) I have some from the Just Dance series and Wii Plus and Wii Sports Resort.
    6.) I have a WD Passport 320GB formatted with FAT32.

    Hope this helps.
    Thanks.
    Pedro

  7. #7
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    397
    Thanked 1,127 Times in 962 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by prod75 View Post
    Hi. First of all, sorry for the double-post. Will pay better attention next time.
    As for the requested information, here it is:
    1.) syscheck

    Spoiler



    2.) Both are legitimate nintendo wii remote with motion plus already included.
    3.) No. Never noticed.
    4.) Pristine condition.
    5.) I have some from the Just Dance series and Wii Plus and Wii Sports Resort.
    6.) I have a WD Passport 320GB formatted with FAT32.

    Hope this helps.
    Thanks.
    Pedro
    Your system's mod is pretty old. I would suggest that you go through chapter 2 of "Softmod Any Wii" guide (link in signature) and download ModPack.zip and go through that process to install the 30 wads that come in that bundle.

    That may or may not fix your problem, but it will at least update your system to what we consider current and eliminate that possibility as a cause.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  8. 1 User Says Thank You llaffer For This Useful Post

    Jax

  9. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi.
    I've updated my Wii as per your advice.

    Spoiler



    Unfortunately the freezing problem persists.
    While reading the softmodding tutorial I realized that I own 1 TR remote. Could it be that the problem comes from having a non-TR and a TR remote together?
    Also, I've kept my Wii with 4.3E. Would it make sense installing v4.1 as you recommend in the tutorial?

    Thanks for the support.

  10. #9
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,298
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,627 Times in 1,931 Posts
    This is one strange issue, one that I have never heard of before. Have you tried clearing the sync memory then resyncing both remotes? It couldn't hurt to try.

  11. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi.
    I tried re-synching both remotes but the problem persists. And now, to make this stranger, it happens regardless of the remote and if my kids are playing with one or two remotes.
    There's another thread going on with other people reporting the same freezing problem.
    Guess it's not a game or remote problem... Let's see.
    thanks for the support.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •