Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Wii with no gc ports loads gc backups fine, but yeah.. no ports

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Wii with no gc ports loads gc backups fine, but yeah.. no ports

    So i recently bought a new wii, since i gave my old one to my sister.
    The new wii is modded with a WODE, and i have softmodded it.
    believing i could run my old gc backups i tried running them from the WODE, and everything was fine. i stumbeled over to my wii to plug in my gc controller, but i couldn't find any ports for it...

    Searching the web i found out they removed the gcslots from the wii.

    Game loads fine, runs fine and everything, so now im wondering:

    What would it take for me to be able to play my gcgames?
    is there any controller except for the gc controller that is able to run these games?
    can i download a cMios that has wiimote compability?
    emulating wiimode while in gcmode, so that the wiimote runs?
    soldering gcports where they used to be?

    Any enlightment on this topic would be awesome!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    You're kidding me, right? Be far easier, less time-consuming to buy a second-hand Wii...

  3. #3
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iCrimZen View Post
    So i recently bought a new wii, since i gave my old one to my sister.
    The new wii is modded with a WODE, and i have softmodded it.
    believing i could run my old gc backups i tried running them from the WODE, and everything was fine. i stumbeled over to my wii to plug in my gc controller, but i couldn't find any ports for it...

    Searching the web i found out they removed the gcslots from the wii.

    Game loads fine, runs fine and everything, so now im wondering:

    What would it take for me to be able to play my gcgames?
    is there any controller except for the gc controller that is able to run these games?
    can i download a cMios that has wiimote compability?
    emulating wiimode while in gcmode, so that the wiimote runs?
    soldering gcports where they used to be?

    Any enlightment on this topic would be awesome!
    You would probably need to add Classic Controller support to Devolution. I believe that may actually be in the official todo list, but it has yet to be implemented.

    Quote Originally Posted by nightstah View Post
    You're kidding me, right? Be far easier, less time-consuming to buy a second-hand Wii...
    Or heck, buy an old GameCube, since he already has a Wii.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nightstah View Post
    You're kidding me, right? Be far easier, less time-consuming to buy a second-hand Wii...
    I'm not. i just wanna know if there is any way to actually play the backups without a GC-controller.

    I'd rather buy a GCport and solder it on, than buying a new wii -if that is a option

  5. #5
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Yes, you can solder them back.
    You are going to have search for a guide that provides the info. needed to do so.

    If that's what you want to do.

  6. 1 User Says Thank You Jax For This Useful Post


  7. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Did I say new? Maybe new for you... you wanna Mad Scientist away, be my guest. Wouldn't have the faintest clue... the redesign may not have the proper connections in place for a simple (for you) direct solder-on job. Good luck!

  8. 1 User Says Thank You nightstah For This Useful Post

    Jax

  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jax View Post
    Yes, you can solder them back.
    You are going to have search for a guide that provides the info. needed to do so.

    If that's what you want to do.
    Hmm, interesting!
    i'll look up a guide, thanks for your help guys

    if there is any other option that does not involve money, im listening

    Did I say new? Maybe new for you... you wanna Mad Scientist away, be my guest. Wouldn't have the faintest clue... the redesign may not have the proper connections in place for a simple (for you) direct solder-on job. Good luck!
    you're so negative, let the mad scientist in you bloom
    Last edited by iCrimZen; 01-31-2013 at 01:48 PM.

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Perhaps try to find someone you know who doesn't do the Gamecube thing and willing to do a straight up swap?

  11. #9
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    You need more then a Good Guide as Nightstah said you have to make sure all parts needed to do so are in fact intact on that wii.

    We have not had anybody try it.
    It would do you good to do some research on it as it might end up costing you more , then buying a used wii.

    I should have been "A Lot" Clearer , that is my fault.

    See Nightstah , didn't I tell Ya.

  12. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,311
    Thanks
    1,803
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Don't expect kind words of encouragement, considering the author (offered as a "don't say we didn't say so" type of mention only, you'll find out lol).

  13. 1 User Says Thank You nightstah For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •