Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Restore softmodded Wii to factory settings?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Restore softmodded Wii to factory settings?

    I have a Wii with version 4.3E which accidentally got updated which resulted in me not being able to run games from my HDD.
    Is there any way I can restore my Wii to factory settings and redo the softmod? It may be a stupid question but I don't want to flick around on my own and risk to screw it up even more

    Thanks!

    Sorry if it's the wrong forum for this.

    EDIT; The only problem is that I can't load any games, everything else works like it should.

    EDIT 2; Solved
    Last edited by Sandraww; 01-30-2013 at 12:40 AM.

  2. #2
    Retired Staffer bmarlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Posts
    5,945
    Thanks
    977
    Thanked 1,702 Times in 1,315 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4
    And what was the problem?



  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Please do let us know the details and how you solved it if you can. I have a similar problem and it would help a lot.
    thanks

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Guessing nintendo wrote over their cIOS. All they had to do was run a syscheck to see what nintendo have done. Hope they install Priiloader to block updates so they don't have this problem again.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh sorry!
    Erm, well tbh the only thing I did was to wipe out the SD card, and then I uninstalled and deleted homebrew channel. When unplugging the USB my Wii acted normal as if it had never been softmodded or anything. So what I did here was to use the Letterbomb technique, found a great guide on Youtube which explained in detail (incase you are unsure or new to this, helped me loads, didnt need my hubby once to help!! :P *proudface*)

    So that took me some time anyway to watch through and do what he did on the video, and when I was done my Wii worked perfectly. The only thing bothering me atm is that some games freeze, but I read up on that and that's not the softmods fault, it's just a bad copy of the game. (However they worked on my previous softmod but meh can just try to download a new copy then, no biggie!)

    Oh and I did run a system check, loads of the IOS thingies said "stub" so instead of fixing that I decided to just redo the whole thing.

  6. #6
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,341
    Thanks
    365
    Thanked 1,049 Times in 895 Posts
    If you followed a failtube video as a guide to mod your system, you likely didn't do everything that we recommend (including updated cIOS files and priiloader).

    You should take a look at our "Softmode Any Wii" guide (link in my sigature) and go through it to fill in any gaps that you may have missed.

    Some IOS files as stubs are normal. So don't let that make you think that something isn't correct with your system.

    Click Below for recommended Links


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you I will look through it just to be sure, so far it's working perfectly except for a few game freezes but as I stated above that doesnt seem to have to do with the mod itself.


    And as a sidenote, I did update cIOS and priiloader

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •