Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: wii sd card help

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by llaffer View Post
    A SanDisk branded SD card is usually recommended. The highest capacity the Wii will take, I think, is 32gig.

    The only thing left to choose your card is its class, which usually ranges from 2-10. The higher the class, the faster the read/write speed.

    I usually will pick up class 10 32gig cards from Amazon for $20-$25. I have a total of 5 of them in use right now (Wii, Wii U, and 3 3DS's).

    If all you're going to do is launch small HB apps, speed isn't as important. If you're going to load larger files from it, like GameCube imgaes to run from DML, you'll want the faster card.
    the only thing im wanting too really store on my sd card is dlc content off like just dance 4

    iv seen a sandisk sd hdsc card which says number 4 on it so presume its a class 4? would this be ok too do what im wanting with it?

  2. #12
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,378
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,067 Times in 909 Posts
    I'm not sure how large the DLC for that game is. So basically, I'd suggest to get what you can afford. You wouldn't need a class 10 card for that, but having a class 10 would still have faster reads than a class 2 or 4.

    The class number is shown on the card with a circle around it.

    51wygPsTl1L._SL500_AA300_.jpg(class 4)
    ip059710.jpg(class 10)

  3. 2 Users Say Thank You to llaffer For This Useful Post


  4. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    iv bought a 4gb hdsc card which on a thread on here said would work on my wii. but when i go on just dance it wont recognise the card yet my wii does? does anyone know why or can help me?

  5. #14
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,378
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,067 Times in 909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mobilemaster2010 View Post
    iv bought a 4gb hdsc card which on a thread on here said would work on my wii. but when i go on just dance it wont recognise the card yet my wii does? does anyone know why or can help me?
    The game may be programmed with drivers to only support 2gb cards or less, as the Wii in general support before Wii Menu 4.0 in 2009.

    Each game has to be able to support it or not. Just because Wii Menu supports it doesn't mean that everything will.

  6. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by llaffer View Post
    The game may be programmed with drivers to only support 2gb cards or less, as the Wii in general support before Wii Menu 4.0 in 2009.

    Each game has to be able to support it or not. Just because Wii Menu supports it doesn't mean that everything will.
    so basically best of buying 2gbs? but that doesnt leave you much space when you have too put all the other files on it too....

  7. #16
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,223
    Thanks
    998
    Thanked 1,132 Times in 890 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mobilemaster2010

    so basically best of buying 2gbs? but that doesnt leave you much space when you have too put all the other files on it too....
    I have a 2g SD card and even with all my random Homebrew stuff + EmuNAND for SNEEK I still have 500+mb.

  8. #17
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Moderator
    IRC AOP
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    llaffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,378
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,067 Times in 909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mobilemaster2010 View Post
    so basically best of buying 2gbs? but that doesnt leave you much space when you have too put all the other files on it too....
    I've never messed with in-game DLC, so I don't have that limitation. So that's why I've been able to use 32gig cards, which was handy when DML was the only way of playing GameCube games, until DM was updated to work off of USB.

    So if you use in-game DLC, then keeping 2g for that may be required, but you can still keep the 4g around for other uses.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You llaffer For This Useful Post


  10. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SNES_Master View Post
    I have a 2g SD card and even with all my random Homebrew stuff + EmuNAND for SNEEK I still have 500+mb.

    yeah but kids love just dance and have downloaded all the dlc that comes with just dance 4 so in end that doesnt leave very many mb left lol

  11. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by llaffer View Post
    I've never messed with in-game DLC, so I don't have that limitation. So that's why I've been able to use 32gig cards, which was handy when DML was the only way of playing GameCube games, until DM was updated to work off of USB.

    So if you use in-game DLC, then keeping 2g for that may be required, but you can still keep the 4g around for other uses.

    ok thanks for help. ill just buy a few 2gbs with kids wanting dlc for just dances

  12. #20
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,223
    Thanks
    998
    Thanked 1,132 Times in 890 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mobilemaster2010

    yeah but kids love just dance and have downloaded all the dlc that comes with just dance 4 so in end that doesnt leave very many mb left lol
    Hmm, I would have thought when you buy DLC it would save to the systems memory?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •