Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Wii system menu and homebrew channel wont boot after installing another wii's nand

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii system menu and homebrew channel wont boot after installing another wii's nand

    Ok I know im an idiot and definetly should of done more research on this. But I have stupidly installed another wiis nand on to the wii I just got. I thought it simply backed up all the old wiis data and was now ready to be installed on the new wii. I rushed into it and now im stuck with this problem and I do feel bad ifor wasting peoples time with this thread so I sincerely apologize. Anyway now the 'new' wii will load bootmii at start up but the screen just goes black whenever i try to access the wii menu or the homebrew channel. Is there any way i can restore functionality ? Running the wii without the sd card in it also just results in a black screen with no bootmii menu. I have read a bit about the gamecube controller port 4 reset option but I dont want that to delete bootmii and then it still wont work. Thankyou very much to anyone that can help. If it helps I believe the wii is a launch wii with the latest firmware 4.3E and bootmii installed.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    909
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Can u restore your original nand for that wii?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No unfortunately i did not back up the new wiis nand. I really screwed the pooch on this one lol. I still have the old wiis nand on sd card although i doubt thats of any use.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    909
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Did u keep the keys?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Basically I just overwrote the new wii completely using the bootmii installer where you enter the konami code. I did not back up anything on the new wii as I thought there was nothing to back up which I now realise is a completely rookie mistake. So unfortunately no i dont have the keys either

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    909
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    I might be wrong but i think that might be screwed beyond belief, just hang fire til mauifrog or someone a bit more knowledgeable reads this
    Last edited by Pob3008; 01-04-2013 at 05:08 AM.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sure thing. I really appreciate you trying to help. Never felt like such a noob before lol.

  8. #8
    New Member BabyDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pob3008 View Post
    I might be wrong but i think that might be screwed beyond belief, just hang fire til mauifrog or someone a bit more knowledgeable reads this
    I agree with Pob. However, I just have to ask out of sheer curiosity.... "Why?" Did you old Wii do tango uniform on ya? Or were you just looking for a Wii for the projection room?

    Baby Daddy's System



  9. #9
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    909
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    I'm assuming they thought by installing the old wii's nand to the new that they would miraculously have boot 2 access

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well my old wii I purchased at launch died after many many hours of service (would get a disk read error 1 minute into playing any game) so I bought a basically new wii second hand off gumtree that had a working disc drive and basically i just wanted to get all the stuff off the old Wii and transfer it over and a full NAND copy seemed to be the easiest way. Now I know how wrong I was lol. If Nintendo was more flexible I wouldnt resorted to hacks, I had a similar problem with my PS3 and could easily make a backup and transfer that to a new ps3 through the system menu.

    It it helps I did install boot2 (assuming that means the bootmii menu without having to go through the wii system menu first ?) on the new wii before I transferred the NAND over so I can load bootmii and the SD card menu. Again thanks for your help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •