Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Bootmii loaded as IOS and HBC not working ... help pls!

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Bootmii loaded as IOS and HBC not working ... help pls!

    Hi - apologies if this is already out there somewhere - I'm pretty new here! After successfully getting my USB HDD to work and backing up games, I then found they wouldn't play off the HDD - I did some research and it seemed it was linked to a missing IOS .. not too sure - but in the process of trying to correct that, I think I may have bricked the damn thing!
    I have got a Nand backup and have tried to follow the process of restoring .. but to no avail! I have loaded the nand.bin and keys.bin files onto the root of the SD card and have also got the necessary bootmii folder with the 3 files on the card .. but the WII is NOT booting up to bootmii but rather goes directly to the WII menu, from which nothing works ... I'm assuming this means I have bootmii installed as IOS!?

    I can boot up to the Wii system menu and can see the HBC channel, but if I select it and then select START, it reboots the Wii - as do all the other channels or if I try to play a game ...

    System is 4.3E ...

    Don't know what else to do and am really hoping for some help ... bad start to the new year!

  2. #2
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,680
    Thanks
    3,227
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 1,120 Posts
    What exactly did you do?
    What ios did you mess with?
    Give us more info on what you did , so we have a better idea of whats going on.

    You don't have a brick, cause if you did.....you wouldn't be able to get to the system menu.

  3. #3
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
    Do you have Priiloader? Have you tried that? Does it work?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Jax - I'm very new to this process, and followed one of the step-by-step tutorials - starting with the NAND backup, just in case - unfortunately, the tutorial didn't mention the difference between boot2 and IOS - so I got stuffed there already.
    I honestly am not sure what I did wrong - the last I recall doing was probably when I was "messing" with IOS36 .... but can't be certain! ;-(

    Kunparekh18 - I thought I did have priiloader installed, but it seems not! I have a folder on my SD card "boot.dol for preloader" with a boot.dol file int hat folder ... but not too sure what to do with it!?

    Sorry guys - I know a more detailed explanation is probably needed, but I was trying to be clever with this thing and learned a lesson I think! ... my kids are pretty ticked off with me now too LOL!

  5. #5
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
    Hold Reset on your Wii Console. If a white or black menu saying Priiloader pops up, success!

  6. #6
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,680
    Thanks
    3,227
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Which Guide did you follow?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    nope - Preloader not working!!

    used this one: removed Out Side Link

    All was working perfectly up to here - even managed to get the USB HDD working and backed up the games I have - but when they didn't want to work off the HDD, I tried retracing my steps and somewhere screwed things up again!
    Last edited by Jax; 01-02-2013 at 05:46 AM. Reason: Removed Link...

  8. #8
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
    Learn how to edit your post instead of posting "corrections."

    Is your Wii able to read backup discs? Then, I think SaveMiiFrii might work.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yep - saw the "Edit Post" link after sending that .... ;-D

    I'm not sure about backup discs - only backup I have is now on the HDD and then a few original discs .. none of which are working ...

  10. #10
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
    By backup discs I mean burned discs. Do you have a GameCube controller? You can do this.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •